Contact Us

2019 Tonys: ‘Hadestown’ wins Best Musical ++ Bryan Cranston, Elaine May, more


The 2019 Tony Awards happened Sunday night at Radio City Music Hall, and Anais Mitchell‘s folk opera, Hadestown, was the big winner of the night, picking up eight awards, including best musical, best score, best direction of a musical by Rachel Chavkin and best featured actor André De ShieldsHadestown was nominated for 14 Tonys and was adapted from Anais’ 2010 album of the same name, which is based on the Greek myth of Orpheus and Eurydice. You can watch the cast perform “Wait for Me” from Hadestown below.

Other 2019 Tony winners: The Ferryman won Best Play; the great writer/director/performer Elaine May won her first Tony ever for Kenneth Lonergan’s Waverly Gallery; and Bryan Cranston won Best Actor for the stage adaptation of Network. James Corden hosted and you can check out the full list of 2019 winners. below.

Wanna see Hadestown? Tickets for the musical at the Walter Kerr Theatre are on sale.

Anais is also playing a free Lincoln Center Out of Doors show with David Crosby in August.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on


Best Musical: “Hadestown”

Best Play: “The Ferryman”

Best Revival of a Musical: “Oklahoma!”

Best Revival of a Play: “The Boys in the Band”

Best Book of a Musical: “Tootsie,” Robert Horn

Best Original Score: “Hadestown,” music and lyrics: Anaïs Mitchell

Best Direction of a Play: Sam Mendes, “The Ferryman”

Best Direction of a Musical: Rachel Chavkin, “Hadestown”

Best Leading Actor in a Play: Bryan Cranston, “Network”

Best Leading Actress in a Play: Elaine May, “The Waverly Gallery”

Best Leading Actor in a Musical: Santino Fontana, “Tootsie”

Best Leading Actress in a Musical: Stephanie J. Block, “The Cher Show”

Best Featured Actor in a Play: Bertie Carvel, “Ink”

Best Featured Actress in a Play: Celia Keenan-Bolger, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Best Featured Actor in a Musical: André De Shields, “Hadestown”

Best Featured Actress in a Musical: Ali Stroker, “Oklahoma!”

Best Scenic Design of a Play: Rob Howell, “The Ferryman”

Best Scenic Design of a Musical: Rachel Hauck, “Hadestown”

Best Costume Design of a Play: Rob Howell, “The Ferryman”

Best Costume Design of a Musical: Bob Mackie, “The Cher Show”

Best Lighting Design of a Play: Neil Austin, “Ink”

Best Lighting Design of a Musical: Bradley King, “Hadestown”

Best Sound Design of a Play: Fitz Patton, “Choir Boy”

Best Sound Design of a Musical: Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, “Hadestown”

Best Choreography: Sergio Trujillo, “Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations”

Best Orchestrations: Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose, “Hadestown”

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theater: Rosemary Harris, Terrence McNally, Harold Wheeler

Isabelle Stevenson Award: Judith Light

Regional Theater Tony Award: TheatreWorks Silicon Valley

Special Tony Award: Marin Mazzie, Jason Michael Webb, Sonny Tilders and Creature Technology Company

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theater: Broadway Inspirational Voices — Michael McElroy, Founder, Peter Entin, FDNY Engine 54, Ladder 4, Battalion 9, Joseph Blakely Forbes

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!