Contact Us

5 Questions with: Cheap Girls

Cheap Girls

Cheap Girls‘ next album, titled Famous Graves, is due out in May. This coming week, like they’ve been doing on tour with Against Me!, they’ll preview some of it in Austin at SXSW where one of their shows is the official BrooklynVegan showcase on Wednesday night. (Against Me! play that one too.) We recently spoke to them about the new album and saw some in-studio pics. Now, we cornered singer Ian Graham again to ask him 5 QUESTIONS:

1) What is your favorite venue to play in the country and why?

Ian:That’s an incredibly tough one. I’d have to break it down city-to-city. I know that we all really enjoyed this show we played at Neumo’s in Seattle about 3 years ago. That place was great. But, since venues (unfortunately) come and go, we’ve gotta keep it city-to-city.

more below…

2) Tell us about the worst show you’ve ever played.

We did this show in Hohenstein, Germany a couple years ago. Fucking nightmare. Some very, very lightly attended outdoor festival. It was the last day of a 5 week tour. Just a mess. Microphone shocked me the whole time, amplifiers blew up, next band soundchecked next to us while we played for about 9 people. It was comically bad.

3) What are some albums that you guys have been spinning in the van lately?

I’ve been listening to that new record by The Men, we listen to tons of Steely Dan, the new Hold Steady is incredible. Honestly, we haven’t been in the van much the last few months so this answer remains to be seen over the next few weeks.

4) What would your metal band name be?

My friend Coody had the great idea for a metal band called Psoriasis, with the debut album “Total Flakes.” I think I’d try to lift that from him.

5) Be honest: how often do you change your clothes on tour?

I’d say at least a couple items get changed every day. I change clothes on tour about the same as I change them at home. Some shirts don’t feel right until a couple days in.

Cheap Girls – “Knock Me Over”

Cheap Girls

Cheap Girls

Famous Graves
May 13, 2014
Xtra Mile Recordings

1. Slow Nod
2. Short Cut Days
3. Knock Me Over
4. Amazing Grace
5. Pure Hate
6. Man in Question
7. Second Floor
8. Splintered
9. Thought Senseless
10. Turns
11. 7-8 Years (bonus track)

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!