Contact Us

A Place to Bury Strangers & Grooms celebrated new LPs at MHOW ++ watch new APTBS video filmed at DbA’s last show

by Bill Pearis

APTBS @ MHOW, 2/17/2014
IMAGE

A Place to Bury Strangers‘ new album Transfixiation is out this week and they’ve just released a video for “We’ve Come So Far.” The video was filmed live at Death by Audio on November 22, which was both the last night of the DIY venue and APTBS’ frontman (and DBA co-owner) Oliver Ackermann’s birthday. The video was directed by his DbA co-owner Matt Conboy. Says Ollie:

The fact that we were losing our home [Death By Audio], that it was the last show and APTBS were playing seemed like too good of an opportunity to turn down. We filmed their set and I felt like we were able to capture the spirit of that moment: this weird, dark form of celebration and catharsis. By the end of the night I think everybody felt like they really got something out of their system.

You can watch the video below.

Last night A Place to Bury Strangers celebrated Transfixiation‘s release, a few blocks from DbA’s address, at Music Hall of Williamsburg, which was their typically awesome sensory overload of strobes, smoke machines, projections and white noise. For their encore, they played a down-and-dirty set on the floor by the sound booth. Cool show. It was the kickoff to their tour and all dates are listed below.

Also celebrating a new album was Grooms, who also played DbA’s final night and whose great new album Comb the Feelings Through Your Hair (the last album recorded at Death by By Audio) is also out this week. Playing as a three-piece, the new songs sounded great: Steve Levine is a hell of a drummer (in addition to being a funny guy) and Jay Heiselmann used a variety of effects to make his guitar sound like keyboards (the new album takes Grooms into new territory), leaving most of the more normal guitar parts to frontman Travis Johnson.

Opening the night was Baltimore’s fun Ed Schrader’s Music Beat, who are on the first leg of APTBS’ tour. If you follow Ed on Instagram, you know he has an obsession with Frasier, and the band’s new tour t-shirts mimic the sitcom’s logo, but with Baltimore’s skyline in place of Seattle’s. You can buy them online too.

All APTBS tour dates are listed, along with the “We’ve Come So Far” video, below…


A photo posted by Brooklyn Vegan (@brooklynvegan) on

A Place to Bury Strangers – 2015 Tour Dates
Wed. Feb. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts : Black Box (w/ Ed Schrader’s Music Beat, Pink Wash)
Thu. Feb. 19 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery (w/ Thrushes)
Fri. Feb. 20 – Washington, DC @ Rock N’ Roll Hotel
Sat. Feb. 21 – Asheville, NC @ New Mountain Theatre (w/ Ed Schrader’s Music Beat, Shine Brothers, Alligator Indian)
Sun. Feb. 22 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl (w/ Ed Schrader’s Music Beat, Bataille)
Mon. Feb. 23 – Nashville, TN @ The End (w/ Ed Schrader’s Music Beat, Breast Massage)
Wed. Feb. 25 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa (w/ Creepoid, Dead Marshes)
Thur. Feb. 26 – Houston, TX @ Fitzgerald’s Downstairs (w/ Creepoid, My Education)
Fri. Feb. 27 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada (w/ Creepoid)
Sat. Feb. 28 – Austin, TX @ Red 7 (Pysch Fest Kickoff Party)
Sun. Mar. 1 – San Antonio, TX @ The Korova (w/ Creepoid)
Wed. Mar. 4 – Oklahoma City, OK @ The Conservatory (w/ Creepoid, Depth and Current, Power Pyramid)
Fri. Mar. 6 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar (w/ Creepoid)
Sat. Mar. 7 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace (w/ Creepoid, Mattox)
Mon. Mar. 9 – Tuscon, AZ @ Club Congress (w/ Creepoid)
Tue. Mar. 10 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar (w/ Creepoid, Sleep Money)
Wed. Mar. 11 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah (w/ Creepoid, District 9)
Thu. Mar. 12 – Las Vegas, NV @ Beauty Bar (w/ Creepoid, Close to Modern)
Fri. Mar. 13 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium (w/ Creepoid)
Sat. Mar. 14 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel (w/ Creepoid)
Sun. Mar. 15 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echoplex (w/ Creepoid, Tennis System)*
Tue. Mar. 17 – Portland, OR @ Star Theater (w/ Daydream Machine, Miracle Falls)
Wed. Mar. 18 – Seattle, WA @ Crocodile (w/ Nightmare Fortress, Grave Babies)
Tue. March 31 – Dublin, IE @ The Workmans Club (w/ September Girls)
Wed. April 1 – Belfast, IE @ Voodoo
Thu. April 2 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut
Fri. April 3 – Leeds, UK @ Belgrave Music Hall (w/ September Girls)
Sun. April 5 – Manchester, UK @ Sound Control Basement (w/ September Girls)
Mon. April 6 – Nottingham, UK @ The Bodega Social Club (w/ September Girls)
Tue. April 7 – Birmingham, UK @ The Rainbow (w/ September Girls)
Wed. April 8 – Cardiff, UK @ Clwb lfor Bach (w/ September Girls)
Thu. April 9 – London, UK @ Oslo (w/ September Girls)
Sat. April 11 – Lille, FR @ La Peniche (w/ zZz’s)
Sun. April 12 – Ris-Orangis, FR @ Le Plan (w/ zZz’s)
Mon. April 13 – Paris, FR @ Le Divan du Monde (w/ zZz’s)
Tue. April 14 – Lyon, FR @ Le Marche Gare (w/ zZz’s)
Thu. April 16 – Zurich, CH @ Viadukt – Bogen F) (w/ zZz’s)
Fri. April 17 – Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Sat. April 18 – Düdingen, CH @ Cafe Bad Bonn
Sun. April 19 – Munich, DE @ Strom (w/ zZz’s)
Tue. April 21 – Berlin, DE @ Lido (w/ zZz’s)
Wed. April 22 – Cologne, DE @ Underground (w/ zZz’s)
Thu. April 23 – Courtrai, BE @ De Kreun (w/ zZz’s)
Fri. April 24 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg (w/ zZz’s)
Sat. April 25 – Groningen, NL @ Vera
Mon. April 27 – Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklang (w/ zZz’s)
Tue. April 28 – Copenhagen DK @ BETA (w/ zZz’s)
Wed. April 29 – Malmo, SE @ Babel (w/ zZz’s)
Thu. April 30 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik (w/ zZz’s)
Fri. May 1 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand (w/ zZz’s)
Sat. May 2 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee (w/ zZz’s)
Fri. May 8-Sun. May 10 – Austin, TX @ Austin Psych Fest

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!