Contact Us

Afghan Whigs have it ‘In Spades’ on new LP (watch the “Demon in Profile” video)

The Afghan Whigs
Chris Cuffaro

Afghan Whigs have just announced In Spades, their new album that will be out May 5 via Sub Pop. The band made the LP in New Orleans, Los Angeles, Memphis, and Joshua Tree. It’s a spooky record,” says frontman Greg Dulli. “I like that it’s veiled. It’s not a concept album per se, but as I began to assemble it, I saw an arc and followed it. To me it’s about memory – in particular, how quickly life and memory can blur together.” The first single from the record is the brooding “Demon in Profile” and the video, directed by Phil Harder, stars Har Mar Superstar. You can watch that below.

Following the LP’s release, Afghan Whigs will be heading off on a European tour. (No North American dates announced yet.) Those are listed, along with In Spades album art and tracklist, below.


Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on


Afghan Whigs – In Spades – tracklist:
1. Birdland
2. Arabian Heights
3. Demon in Profile
4. Toy Automatic
5. Oriole
6. Copernicus
7. The Spell
8. Light as a Feather
9. I Got Lost
10. Into the Floor

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!