Contact Us

Alex Cameron shares “Runnin’ Outta Luck” ft. Brandon Flowers & Kirin J Callinan

alex cameron

Alex Cameron has just shared “Runnin’ Outta Luck,” the new single from Forced Witness, his new album that’s out next week (9/8). Never one to shy away from ’80s rock sounds, “Runnin’ Outta Luck” is that in capital letters and could’ve appeared on the St. Elmo’s Fire soundtrack. (You’d need a time-traveling DeLorean to get more ’80s than this.) The song was co-written by The Killers’ Brandon Flowers who also sings and plays on it, as do Kirin J Callinan and Foxygen’s Jonathan Rado. Alex tells how it all came about:

Most of the time me ‘n’ Roy [Molloy, saxophonist] have around 80 bucks in our business bank account. Good money. Kind of money makes you taste every egg in the omelet. I remember we’d played a show in Tallahassee to about seven people, and we were driving over to Atlanta to make a flight. Spirits were high. What with Roy tapping at the steering wheel and me eating my peanut M&Ms. Then my phone vibrated in my pocket. But it wasn’t a notification about terrorism or another nude on my Instagram. It was an email from Brandon Flowers.

Take about two months outta the equation and find me ‘n’ Roy living at the Palms Resort up on
Flamingo out there off the Vegas strip. Bein’ far from a millionaire doesn’t mean you can’t live like a millionaire and success doesn’t always hinge on good luck, it can be about other people’s bad luck. Brandon was in a bind with his lyrics, and we were in a bind with our never having come close to a radio hit.

Me, Roy ‘n’ Brandon wrote this song in a day after hiking out to old Icebox Canyon they got out there.  Kinda place where they filmed James Gandolfini crying.  Kinda place where guys with ponytails climb cliff faces without spotters.

You don’t have to be lucky. Just make sure everyone around you stays unlucky.

You can watch the video for “Runnin’ Outta Luck,” which was filmed at the UK seaside town of Hastings, below.

Alex, Roy and the rest of his band will be on tour starting in September which is with fellow Aussie Jack Ladder. They pull into NYC for a show at Rough Trade on October 7 (sold out). He also has UK dates with The Killers in November. Updated tour dates are listed below.

The Killers, meanwhile, have a new album and 2018 North American tour on the way, and Kirin J Callinan is on tour now (and played NYC on Tuesday night).

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Alex Cameron – 2017 Tour Dates
Thu. Aug. 31 – London, UK @ The Lexington – SOLD OUT
Sun. Sep. 3 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival
Fri. Sep. 8 – Navarro, CA @ The Outpost
Sat. Sep. 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Hi Hat
Tue. Sep. 19 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister Bar #
Thu. Sep. 21 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder #
Fri. Sep. 22 – Dallas, TX @ Double Wide Bar #
Sat. Sep. 23 – New Orleans, LA @ Circle Bar #
Sun. Sept. 24 – Memphis, TN @ Growler’s #
Mon. Sept. 25 – Nashville, TN @ The Basement #
Tue. Sep. 26 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups #
Thu. Sep. 28 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout #
Fri. Sep. 29 – Bloomington, IN @ Blockhouse Bar #
Sat. Sep. 30 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Club Café #
Mon. Oct. 2 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd DC #
Tue. Oct. 3 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s #
Thu. Oct. 5 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz P.D.B. #
Fri. Oct. 6 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Upstairs #
Sat. Oct. 7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC #
Mon. Nov. 6 – Birmingham, UK @ Genting Arena $
Tue. Nov. 7 – Birmingham, UK @ Genting Arena $
Fr. Nov. 10 – Newcastle, UK @ Metro Radio Arena $
Mon. Nov. 13 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Arena $
Tue. Nov. 14 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Arena $
Thu. Nov. 16 Copenhagen, DK @ Vega Ideal Bar
Fri. Nov. 17 – Hamburg, DE @ Übel&Gefährlich
Sat. Nov. 18 – Leipzig, DE @ TransCentury Update
Mon. Nov. 20 Berlin, DE @ Lido
Tue. Nov. 21 – Frankfurt, DE @ Zoom Frankfurt
Wed. Nov. 22 – Lausanne, CH @ La Romandie
Fri. Nov. 24 – Zurich, CH @ Zukunft Club
Sat. Nov. 25 – Paris, FR @ Les Inrocks Festival
Mon. Nov. 27 – Brussels, BE @ Le Botanique – Orangerie
Tue. Nov. 28 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Wed. Nov. 29 – Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Fri. Dec. 1 – Dublin, IE @ The Worksman Club
Sat. Dec. 2 – Glasgow, UK @ Mono
Sun. Dec. 3 – Newcastle, UK @ The Cluny
Mon. Dec. 4 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega Social Club
Tue. Dec. 5 – London, UK @ Scala
Wed. Dec. 6 – Manchester, UK @ Deaf Institute

# = with Jack Ladder
$ = supporting The Killers

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!