Contact Us

American Analog Set’s 2001 album ‘Know by Heart’ gets deluxe vinyl reissue (stream it ++ bonus tracks)

by Bill Pearis


American Analog Set‘s fourth album, Know by Heart , is a wonder of contrasts: warm yet chilly, lovely yet sinister, and seems to have come from that space between waking and sleep. It’s an absolutely gorgeous album, not only one of the best of 2001 but of the entire decade. Originally released by Tiger Style, the tiny original vinyl run now goes for astronomical amounts online if you can find it at all (no copies are currently for sale on either eBay or Discogs). Luckily that’s not a problem anymore, as Barsuk today (6/3) has just given the album a deluxe double-disc reissue from the original vinyl masters. The gatefold packaging includes never seen before Know By Heart-era archival photographs and liner notes. You also get a download of 21 previously unreleased demos, including three songs that have never seen the light of day before. (Order yours.) If you’ve never heard Know by Heart, we’re premiering a stream of the reissued album — along with a demo of “Amish Rake Fight” and the previously unreleased “I Got the Ice in Me” from the bonus download — below.

While AmAnSet are still officially together, the band hasn’t released an album since 2005’s Set Free and main man Andrew Kenny now puts his efforts in Wooden Birds and scoring new indie film Two Step. (He’s also been a touring member of Broken Social Scene, The Album Leaf and other groups.) Maybe this reissue will prompt a few live shows. We can hope.

Streams of the album and two bonus tracks below…

1. Punk As Fuck (January 2000 Demo)
2. Secrets (January 2000 Demo)
3. Amish Rake Fight (January 2000 Demo)
4. The Postman (January 2000 Demo)
5. Desert Eagle (January 2000 Demo)
6. I Got the Ice in Me (January 2000 Demo) *
7. New Equation (March 2000 Demo)
8. Secrets (March 2000 Demo)
9. Ice Age (March 2000 Demo)
10. Holly (March 2000 Demo) *
11. Choir Vandals (March 2000 Demo)
12. Million Young (March 2000 Demo)
13. Ted Knight (March 2000 Demo)
14. The Kindness of Strangers (May 2000 Demo)
15. Slow Company (May 2000 Demo)
16. Warm to the Blade (May 2000 Demo)
17. The Postman (May 2000 Demo)
18. Aaron & Maria (May 2000 Demo)
19. Math (June 2000 Demo)
20. Journey to the Center of the Earth (June 2000 Demo)*
21. Computerizing (June 2000 Demo)
*previously unreleased song

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!