Contact Us

Angel Olsen announces new album, ‘MY WOMAN,’ and tour as 6-piece band

Angel-Olsen
Photo by: Amanda Marsalis

Last week Angel Olsen released a video for a new song called “Intern,” that was said to be on a new release called MY WOMAN. Now she’s announced that MY WOMAN is in fact her new album, which will be out on September 2 via Jagjaguwar. As the single hinted, it’s looking like a departure in sound for Angel Olsen. According to a press release, “The album is put together as a proper A-side and a B-side, featuring the punchier, more pop/rock-oriented songs up front, and the longer, more reflective tracks towards the end.” The album was produced by Justin Raisen (Charli XCX, Sky Ferreira, Santigold), and it features guest guitarist Seth Kauffman in addition to her usual band: bassist Emily Elhaj, drummer Joshua Jaeger and guitarist Stewart Bronaugh.

You can pre-order the album now, and the Jagjaguwar pre-order bundle comes with exclusive blue opaque vinyl and the “Others’ Blues” 7” which includes covers of Roky Erickson’s “For You” and Bruce Springsteen’s “Tougher Than The Rest.” “Intern” is now available on all streaming services, and it comes as an instant grat download with all iTunes pre-orders. The album’s tracklist and artwork are below.

Olsen will also be touring in support of the album as a six-piece band. The tour includes NYC shows on September 17 at Webster Hall and September 18 at Warsaw with Alex Cameron, and she’s playing the 2016 Basilica Soundscape festival in Hudson, NY with Explosions in the Sky, Wolves in the Throne Room, Youth Code, Cobalt, and more TBA (tickets). Tickets for the NYC shows go on sale Friday (6/10) at 10 AM. All dates are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Angel-Olsen-MY-WOMAN

MY WOMAN Track List:
1. Intern
2. Never Be Mine
3. Shut Up Kiss Me
4. Give It Up
5. Not Gonna Kill You
6. Heart Shaped Face
7. Sister
8. Those Were The Days
9. Woman
10. Pops

Angel Olsen — 2016 Tour Dates:
Thu. June 16 – Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater #
Fri. June 17 – Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center #
Sat. June 18 – Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium #
Sun. June 19 – Winnipeg. MB @ Park Theatre #
Tue. June 21 – Saskatoon, SK @ Amigo’s #
Wed. June 22 – Calgary, AB @ Sled Island – Central United Church
Fri. June 24 – Anchorage, AK @ Tap Root ^
Sat. June 25 – Anchorage, AK @ Tap Root ^
Sat. July 2 – Reykjavik, IS @ ATP Iceland
Fri. Sep. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Sat. Sep. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *
Sun. Sep. 11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theater *
Mon. Sep. 12 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre *
Wed. Sep. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Thu. Sep. 15 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. Sep. 16 – Hudson, NY @ Basilica Soundscape
Sat. Sep. 17 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall *
Sun. Sep. 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw *
Tue. Sep. 20 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Sep. 21 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair &
Thu. Sep. 22 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Ballroom &
Fri. Sep. 23 – Montreal, QC @ Pop Montreal &
Sat. Sep. 24 – Toronto, ON @ Virgin Mobile Mod Club &
Mon. Sep. 26 – Detroit, MI @ The Loving Touch &
Tue. Sep. 27 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall &
Fri. Sep. 30 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
Sat. Oct. 1 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle &
Thu. Oct. 13 – Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
Fri. Oct. 14 – Manchester, UK @ Club Academy
Sat. Oct. 15 – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3 Studio Warehouse
Sun. Oct. 16 – Bristol, UK @ The Marble Factory
Mon. Oct. 17 – London, UK @ KOKO
Wed. Oct. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel
Thu. Oct. 20 – Copenhagen, DK @ Koncerthuset, Studie 2
Fri. Oct. 21 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Sat. Oct. 22 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand
Sun. Oct. 23 – Goeteborg, SE @ Pustervik
Tue. Oct. 25 – Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater
Wed. Oct. 26 – Munich, DE @ Ampere
Thu. Oct. 27 – Zuerich, CH @ Bogen F
Fri. Oct. 28 – Koeln, DE @ Stadtgarten
Sat. Oct. 29 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Fri. Nov. 4 – Paris, FR @ La Gaîté Lyrique
Sun. Nov. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Tolhuistuin

# = with Scott Tuma
^ = with Termination Dust
* = with Alex Cameron
& = with Rodrigo Amarante

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!