Contact Us

Angel Olsen shares new single “Sister” (watch the video)

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Angel Olsen‘s highly-anticipated new album MY WOMAN drops next week (9/2) via Jagjaguwar, and she’s now dropped a third single and its accompanying video. “Sister” is a 7 + minute song with an 8+ minute video, and here’s some insight to the video via press release:

Shot this summer in Los Angeles and at Joshua Tree National Park, “Sister”’s gorgeous video displays the opposing dualities addressed in the song. After solely directing the videos for “Intern” and “Shut Up Kiss Me,” Olsen teamed up with co-director Conor Hagen and took a different approach for “Sister.” “I wanted to keep from cutting these shots up too much. I wanted to slow frames down just enough for the cinematography to make its own statement. My aim was to gather a mixture of very different themed material, and somehow take a look at the synchronicity that material naturally brought forward.”

Watch above.

Angel’s tour as a six-piece band with opener Alex Cameron hits NYC on September 17 at Webster Hall and September 18 at Warsaw (tickets). All dates are listed below.

Angel Olsen — 2016 Tour Dates
Fri. Sep. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Sat. Sep. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *
Sun. Sep. 11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theater *
Mon. Sep. 12 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre *
Wed. Sep. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Thu. Sep. 15 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. Sep. 16 – Hudson, NY @ Basilica Hudson
Sat. Sep. 17 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall *
Sun. Sep. 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw *
Tue. Sep. 20 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Sep. 21 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair &
Thu. Sep. 22 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Ballroom &
Fri. Sep. 23 – Montreal, QC @ Rialto Theatre &
Sat. Sep. 24 – Toronto, ON @ Virgin Mobile Mod Club &
Sun. Sep. 25 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace &
Mon. Sep. 26 – Ferndale, MI @ The Loving Touch &
Tue. Sep. 27 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall &
Wed. Sep. 28 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall &
Fri. Sep. 30 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
Sat. Oct. 1 – Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle &
Thu. Oct. 13 – Brighton, UK @ Concord 2 #
Fri. Oct. 14 – Manchester, UK @ Club Academy #
Sat. Oct. 15 – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3 Studio Warehouse #
Sun. Oct. 16 – Bristol, UK @ The Marble Factory #
Mon. Oct. 17 – London, UK @ KOKO #
Wed. Oct. 19 – Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel #
Thu. Oct. 20 – Copenhagen, DK @ Koncerthuset, Studie 2 #
Fri. Oct. 21 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee #
Sat. Oct. 22 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand #
Sun. Oct. 23 – Goeteborg, SE @ Pustervik #
Tue. Oct. 25 – Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater #
Wed. Oct. 26 – Munich, DE @ Ampere #
Thu. Oct. 27 – Zuerich, CH @ Bogen F #
Fri. Oct. 28 – Koeln, DE @ Stadtgarten #
Sat. Oct. 29 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique #
Thu. Nov. 3 – London, UK @ Islington Assembly Hall %
Fri. Nov. 4 – Paris, FR @ La Gaîté Lyrique #
Sat. Nov. 5 – Den Haag, NL @ Crossing Border Festival
Sun. Nov. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Tolhuistuin #
Sat. Nov. 26 – Hobart, TAS @ Grand Poobah
Mon. Nov. 28 – Melbourne, AU @ Corner
Thu. Dec. 1 – Lismore, NSW @ Lismore City Hall
Fri. Dec. 2 – Brisbane, QLD @ Brightside
Sat. Dec. 3 – Berri, NSW @ Fairground Festival
Mon. Dec. 5 – Sydney, NSW @ Sydney Opera House Studio
Wed. Dec. 7 – Adelaide, SA @ Grace Emily
Thu. Dec. 8 – Perth, WA @ Badlands
Sat. Dec. 10 – Melbourne, VIC @ Meredith Festival
Tue. Dec. 13 – Wellington, NZ @ San Fran
Wed. Dec. 14 – Auckland, NZ @ Kings Arms

* = with Alex Cameron
& = with Rodrigo Amarante
# = with Little Wings
% = special collaborative performance w/ The Raincoats

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!