Posted in MP3 | music on January 15, 2009

DOWNLOAD: David Byrne & Dirty Projectors - Knotty Pine (MP3)

Dark Was the Night

This is exciting. Not only will the much-talked-about new National-curated Red Hot compilation Dark Was The Night be released by 4AD in one month (February 17th to be exact), they've now officially handed out the first MP3 which happens to be one of the tracks I was most looking forward to - the collaboration between David Byrne and Dirty Projectors. It's called "Knotty Pine". Download it above. More:

[The album is] comprised of 31 exclusive tracks and it will be available as a double cd/triple vinyl/download and will benefit the Red Hot Organization - an international charity dedicated to raising money and awareness for HIV and AIDS through popular culture. They are the people responsible for albums including No Alternative, Red Hot and Blue and many more, and this is their 20th year, and this is the 20th release!

Beginning on January 15th, 4AD will begin a track-by-track premiere of the Dark Was the Night compilation. From January 15 through February 1, each track, in order will be streamed for one day only at as well as on the bands MySpace page.
Other aritsts on the comp include Jose Gonzalez, The Books, Feist, Ben Gibbard, Bon Iver, Grizzly Bear, The National, Nico Muhly, Yeasayer, My Brightest Diamond, Kronos Quartet, Antony, The Decemberists, Iron and Wine, Feist, Sufjan Stevens, Spoon, Arcade Fire, Beirut, My Morning Jacket, Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings, Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio, Castanets, Buck 65, The New Pornographers, Yo La Tengo, Stuart Murdoch, Riceboy Sleeps (aka Jón "Jónsi" Birgisson of Sigur ros and Parachutes' Alex Somers), Andrw Bird, Cat Power, Gillian Welch, Blonde Redhead, Devastations, and Broken Social Scene's Kevin Drew.

David Byrne also recently collaborated with Dizzee Rascal and The Brighton Port Authority on a new track which you can download HERE. Ben Gibbard sings with Feist on the Red Hot comp. Other recent "collaborations" for him include getting engaged to She & Him's Zooey Deschanel. Nico Muhly did the arrangements for the song The National play on this new album. The album also includes a Grizzly Bear song, and a "Grizzly Bear + Feist" track. Nico Muhly also did the arrangements for the live show Grizzly Bear will soon play with an orchestra at Brooklyn Philharmonic.

Beirut has shows coming up. Antony has shows coming up. Sharon Jones has shows coming up. Andrew Bird has shows coming up. Cat Power has shows coming up.

The full Dark was the Night tracklist is below...

1 Knotty Pine - Dirty Projectors + David Byrne
2 Cello Song (Nick Drake) - The Books featuring Jose Gonzalez
3 Train Song (Vashti Bunyan recorded, written by Alasdair Clayre) - Feist + Ben Gibbard
4 Brackett, WI - Bon Iver
5 Deep Blue Sea - Grizzly Bear
6 So Far Around the Bend - The National (arrangement by Nico Muhly)
7 Tightrope - Yeasayer
8 Feeling Good (popularized by Nina Simone) - My Brightest Diamond
9 Dark Was the Night (Blind Willie Johnson) - Kronos Quartet
10 I Was Young When I Left Home (Bob Dylan) - Antony + Bryce Dessner
11 Big Red Machine - Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner
12 Sleepless - The Decemberists
13 Stolen Houses (Die) - Iron and Wine
14 Service Bell - Grizzly Bear + Feist
15 You Are The Blood - Sufjan Stevens

1 Well-Alright - Spoon
2 Lenin - Arcade Fire
3 Mimizan - Beirut
4 El Caporal - My Morning Jacket
5 Inspiration Information (Shuggie Otis) - Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings
6 With A Girl Like You (The Troggs) - Dave Sitek
7 Blood Pt 2 (based on original song "You are the Blood" by the Castanets) - Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)
8 Hey, Snow White (Destroyer) - The New Pornographers
9 Gentle Hour (Snapper) - Yo La Tengo
10 Another Saturday (traditional song) - Stuart Murdoch
11 Happiness - Riceboy Sleeps
12 Amazing Grace (traditional song) - Cat Power and Dirty Delta Blues
13 The Giant Of Illinois (Handsome Family) - Andrew Bird
14 Lua - Conor Oberst + Gillian Welch
15 When the Road Runs Out - Blonde Redhead + Devastations
16 Love vs. Porn - Kevin Drew



Comments (12)

nice job paul heck. nice to have another compilation like this.

Posted by afan | January 15, 2009 11:16 AM

WOW. new songs from all these bands? think i just wet myself.

Posted by Anonymous | January 15, 2009 11:16 AM

way to go BV, for getting on this- i've been looking forward to this track for a while

Posted by Dan K. | January 15, 2009 11:31 AM

Any word if vinyl will come with digital download included? Seems like some labels are making that the norm these days but I'm not sure about 4AD.

Posted by Anonymous | January 15, 2009 11:37 AM

I've never wanted to be a collaboration more than I want to be this one.

Posted by Monk | January 15, 2009 12:21 PM

wow I don't like Dirty Projectors much but this is great! I can't wait for the Grizzly Bear/Feist track and Beirut and Arcade Fire. Wow this compilation looks amazing

Posted by Anonymous | January 15, 2009 12:33 PM

this album has covers. most labels don't do the coupon on albums with cover songs because they have to pay a lot of extra money to publishers.

Posted by 4AD fan | January 15, 2009 12:40 PM

It's really quite surprising that Cat Power will contribute with a cover song.

Posted by Anonymous | January 15, 2009 12:59 PM

cat power doesn't DO charity

Posted by Anonymous | January 15, 2009 1:18 PM

riceboy sleeps!!!!!!!

Posted by Anonymous | January 16, 2009 10:27 AM

Fuck Radio City, they should do it at the Prospect Park bandshell this summer.

Posted by Anonymous | February 11, 2009 1:30 PM

Lenin - Arcade fire - How do the guys create such bands names?

Posted by Irvin P. Faulkner | December 24, 2010 8:07 AM

Leave a Comment