Posted in music | tour dates on April 14, 2009

by Andrew Frisicano

Glass on Glass

St. Ann's Warehouse is hosting its spring benefit, "A Gala Evening with Philip Glass + Ira Glass," on Tuesday, April 28th. The pair will engage in the "World Premiere Performance of Glass on Glass, a one-time-only evening with cousins, composer Philip Glass and master storyteller, Ira Glass, host of public radio's This American Life."

Tickets for the event, which run in $150, $350, and $1,000 packages, are on sale now.

Another upcoming benefit, for the Children's Health Fund, features a performance by Willie Nelson (with CHF co-founder Paul Simon) on Wednesday, May 27th at the Sheraton New York Hotel and Tower. Hillary Rodham Clinton and other notables will be in attendance as well.

To reserve a spot for that event, contribute between $1000 and $100,000 to the CHF (thx rajohn for the tip).

Willie recently played at the Lincoln Center with Wynton Marsalis in February, and has a US tour coming up. The closest stop to NYC on that is a show at New Brunswick, NJ's State Theatre on Saturday, April 18th. Tickets are on sale. All dates below..

Philip Glass tracks "Prophecies" and "Pruitt Igoe" from Koyaanisqatsi were recently featured in The Watchmen, and PBS is in the middle of screening GLASS: A Portrait of Philip Glass in Twelve Parts, a 12-part doc on the composer as part of its American Masters series.

The night after the St. Ann's benefit, Wednesday, April 29th, Glass' work will be performed by Michael Riesman, director of the Philip Glass Ensemble, at new downtown venue The Greene Space. The music will be integrated into a radio theatre performance of The Invisible Man.

On May 17th, "Signal performs Philip Glass' Symphony No. 3 and Suite from The Hours with pianist Michael Riesman, conducted by Brad Lubman at (Le) Poisson Rouge in New York City." (Tickets are on sale.)

Part of Glass' Koyaanisqatsi, Willie Nelson's best-of compilation infomercial video, and tour dates, below...

Philip Glass - Koyaanisqatsi

Best of Willie Nelson Record Collection

Willie Nelson - 2009 Tour Dates
Tue 04/14/09 Stamford, CT Palace Theatre
Wed 04/15/09 Torrington, CT Warner Theatre
Thu 04/16/09 New Bedford, MA Zeiterion Theatre
Fri 04/17/09 Amherst, MA Mullins Center
Sat 04/18/09 New Brunswick, NJ State Theatre
Tue 04/21/09 Salina, KS The Stiefel Theatre For Perf. Arts
Wed 04/22/09 Ardmore, OK Heritage Hall
Thu 04/23/09 Amarillo, TX Amarillo Civic Center
Fri 04/24/09 Flagstaff, AZ Pine Mountain Amphitheater
Fri 05/15/09 Youngstown, OH Chevrolet Centre
Sat 05/16/09 Nelsonville, OH Robbins Crossing @ Hocking College
Sun 05/17/09 Detroit, MI Hart Plaza
Mon 05/18/09 Indianapolis, IN The Vogue
Wed 05/20/09 Columbia, MO The Blue Note
Thu 05/21/09 Effingham, IL The Rosebud Theatre
Fri 05/22/09 Little Rock, AR Downtown Little Rock
Sun 05/24/09 Chillicothe, IL Three Sisters Park
Mon 05/25/09 Paducah, KY Carson Center
Fri 05/29/09 Boston, MA Fenway Park *
Sat 05/30/09 Boston, MA Fenway Park *
Sun 05/31/09 Gilford, NH Meadowbrook U.S. Cellular Pavilion
Tue 06/02/09 Glen Allen, VA Innsbrook Pavilion
Fri 06/05/09 Chattanooga, TN Riverbend Festival Grounds
Sat 06/06/09 Elizabeth, IN Horseshoe Southern Indiana
Sun 06/07/09 Interlochen, MI Kresge Auditorium
Sun 07/05/09 Rothbury, MI Double JJ Resort
Sat 09/26/09 Tinley Park, IL First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre *
Wed 09/30/09 Kansas City, MO Sprint Center *
Fri 10/02/09 Tulsa, OK BOK Center *
Sun 10/04/09 Springdale, AR Holiday Inn Convention Center
Tue 10/20/09 Clearwater, FL Ruth Eckerd Hall
Wed 10/21/09 Melbourne, FL King Center For Performing Arts
Thu 10/22/09 Panama City, FL Marina Civic Center
Fri 10/23/09 Choctaw, MS Pearl River Resort / Silver Star
Sat 10/24/09 Marksville, LA Paragon Casino Resort

* w/ Dave Matthews Band

---

      

Comments (9)

it really is a shame that younger listeners to philip glass that dont have the bankroll to see him live has to miss out because we cant dole out 300 bucks for a show

Posted by eric | April 14, 2009 12:32 PM

I fully agree with you Eric. I would LOVE to attend this.

Posted by michaelways | April 14, 2009 12:36 PM

C'mon. It's a benefit.

Glass played for free last summer.

Posted by J | April 14, 2009 12:39 PM

Man, I'd swear they did this once before, but I'm thinking Ira doesn't think the world will notice because they were only on in Chicago back then, or at least didn't have their own tv show.

Anyhow, big deal? Anyone want to come hear me talk to one of my cousins for $1000?

"What's up dude, you still seem kinda gay to me."

"Not much dude, how many kids you got now? How's construction workin' out for you?"

If you want to hear Phillip Glass, go find a copy of "Breathless" (the remake) and watch it all the way through. Or, if you have Garageband on your computer, watch two minutes of it and loop it 60 times.

Posted by nightscientist | April 14, 2009 2:10 PM

Glass on Glass crime.

Posted by Anonymous | April 14, 2009 2:13 PM

philip is wearing a Band of Outsiders shirt in that picture

Posted by Anonymous | April 14, 2009 2:45 PM

Just an evening??

Posted by Anonymous | April 14, 2009 3:13 PM

Nice Simpsons reference Anon 3:13.

Posted by Bao | April 14, 2009 3:24 PM

Another Willie Date....

5/3 - Austin - Riverbend Centre (Beautiful place)

http://www.riverbendcentre.com/general_upcoming.html


Posted by TXn | April 14, 2009 8:00 PM

Leave a Comment