Posted in music | pictures | tour dates on March 24, 2010

photos by Bryan Bruchman

Broken Social Scene @ Stubb's (SXSW 2010)
bss

Broken Social Scene is now streaming three songs from their new album at MySpace. The band will next be in NYC in May to play Webster Hall and Music Hall of Williamsburg. More dates HERE. Another set of pictures from the band's SXSW show at Stubb's (with The Besnard Lakes, Drive by Truckers and Band of Horses) continues below.

As previously mentioned, Stars will play their new album, The Five Ghosts (out June 22 and featuring contributions from BSS's Andrew Whiteman), in its entirety on their next tour. They're also taking votes at their website (soon) for what other songs they should play at the shows. That tour has been announced and includes NYC shows at Music Hall of Williamsburg (June 4) (tickets on sale Friday at noon) and Le Poisson Rouge (June 5) (tickets on sale Friday at 4pm). All dates and more album info, with those pictures, below...

---

Besnard Lakes @ Stubb's...

Besnard Lakes

Drive By Truckers @ Stubb's...

Drive By Truckers

Band of Horses @ Stubb's...

Band of Horses

Band of Horses

Band of Horses

Band of Horses

Band of Horses

Band of Horses

Band of Horses

Broken Social Scene @ Stubb's...

bss

bss

bss

bss

bss

---

The Five Ghosts - Making Of, Part Two

Stars

Fans will be able to purchase a pre-release album at the upcoming May shows. On offer will be a limited edition lyric booklet with photos and written pieces from the band and download card. The Five Ghosts will be available in several formats, including special vinyl and digital versions and offering remixes and fan collectables in various packages. Full format release details will follow soon via the bands website.

Lead album single Fixed, a gorgeous, synth-driven, quintessentially classic Stars track sees Amy Millan (a 2010 Juno nominee in her own right for her solo work) on lead vocals and will be available as of April 20 through all digital music outlets. The Five Ghosts was written and recorded by all five Stars members in Montreal and sees a guest appearance from Broken Social Scene/Apostle Of Hustle's, Andrew Whiteman.
Stars - 2010 Tour Dates
May 4 - Live Lounge - Ottawa, ON * Presented by LIVE 88.5 ** WIN TO GET IN ONLY **
May 5 - The Mod Club - Toronto, ON * Presented by THE EDGE 102.1 ** ON SALE - Friday March 26 ** ALL AGES
May 6 - Starlight Room - Waterloo, ON ** ON SALE - Friday March 26 **
May 7 - The Casbah - Hamilton ON ** ON SALE - Friday March 26 **
May 8 - London Music Hall - London, ON ** ON SALE - Friday March 26 ** ALL AGES
May 10 - Pyramid Cabaret - Winnipeg, MB * Presented by CURVE 94.3 ** ON SALE - Saturday March 27 **
May 11 - The Starlite Room - Edmonton, AB * Presented by SONIC 102.9 ** ON SALE - Saturday March 27 **
June 1 Paradise Rock Club Boston, MA
June 3 First Unitarian Church Philadelphia, PA
June 4 Music hall of Williamsburg Brooklyn, NY
June 5 Le Poisson Rouge New York, NY
June 6 Free Press Summerfest Houston, TX
June 8 Beachland Ballroom Cleveland, OH
June 9 Lincoln Hall, Chicago, IL
June 15 The Triple Door Seattle, WA
June 16 The Triple Door Seattle, WA
June 17 Aladdin Theater Portland, OR
June 19 The Independent San Francisco, CA
June 20 The Independent San Francisco, CA
June 22 The Troubadour Los Angeles, CA
June 23 The Troubadour Los Angeles, CA

---

Drive by Truckers - 2010 Tour Dates
Thu Apr 01 New York, NY WEBSTER HALL - SOLD OUT
Fri Apr 02 Boston, MA HOUSE OF BLUES
Sat Apr 03 Philadelphia, PA ELECTRIC FACTORY
Tue Apr 06 Toronto, Canada LEE'S PALACE
Wed Apr 07 Toronto, Canada LEE'S PALACE
Thu Apr 08 Detroit, MI ST. ANDREWS HALL
Fri Apr 09 Chicago, IL VIC THEATRE
Sat Apr 10 Lexington, KY BUSTERS BILLIARDS & BACKROOM
Sun Apr 11 Cleveland, OH BEACHLAND BALLROOM & TAVERN
Tue Apr 13 Milvale, PA MR SMALLS
Wed Apr 14 Towson, MD RECHER THEATRE
Thu Apr 15 Norfolk, VA THE NORVA
Fri Apr 16 Asheville, NC THE ORANGE PEEL
Sat Apr 17 Asheville, NC THE ORANGE PEEL
Thu Apr 29 Chattanooga, TN RHYTHM & BREWS
Fri Apr 30 Nashville, TN CANNERY BALLROOM
Sat May 01 Memphis, TN BEALE ST MUSIC FESTIVAL
Sun May 02 Columbia, MO BLUE NOTE
Wed May 05 Tucson, AZ RIALTO THEATRE
Thu May 06 San Diego, CA HOUSE OF BLUES
Fri May 07 Los Angeles, CA AVALON
Sat May 08 San Francisco, CA FILLMORE AUDITORIUM
Sun May 09 Crystal Bay, NV CRYSTAL BAY CASINO
Wed May 12 Salt Lake City, UT IN THE VENUE
Thu May 13 Boulder, CO BOULDER THEATRE
Fri May 14 Fort Collins, CO AGGIE THEATRE
Sat May 15 Aspen, CO BELLY UP
Mon May 31 George. WA SASQUATCH FESTIVAL
Sat Jun 05 Hunter, NY MOUNTAIN JAM
Tue Jun 22 St. Paul, MN XCEL CENTER (with Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers)
Wed Jun 23 Omaha, NE QUEST CENTER (with Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
Sat Jul 10 Indianapolis, IN VERIZON WIRELESS AMPHITHEATRE (with Tom
Petty & the Heartbreakers)
Tue Jul 13 Kansas City, MO SPRINT CENTER (with Tom Petty & the
Heartbreakers)
Thu Jul 15 Cincinnati, OH RIVERBEND MUSIC CENTER (with Tom Petty & the
Heartbreakers)
Sat Jul 17 Chicago, IL UNITED CENTER (with Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
Tue Jul 20 Cleveland, OH BLOSSOM MUSIC CENTER (with Tom Petty & the
Heartbreakers)
Thu Jul 22 Auburn Hills, MI PALACE AT AUBURN HILLS (with Tom Petty & the
Heartbreakers)
Sat Jul 24 Burgettstown, PA FIRST NIAGARA (with Tom Petty & the
Heartbreakers)
4/1 - 4/17 Langhorne Slim supports
4/2 & 4/3 with Lucero
4/20 The Decoys supports
5/7 & 5/8 The Henry Clay People supports

---

      

Comments (6)

Stars are sooo good!

Posted by Anonymous | March 24, 2010 4:22 PM

Hooray! LPR, awesome.

Posted by Anonymous | March 24, 2010 4:46 PM

MHOW, awesome!

Posted by Anonymous | March 24, 2010 7:15 PM

love how good bands like this get 3 comments on BV while the latest skinny jeans/beard tripe "from" williamsburg gets 20

Posted by Anonymous | March 24, 2010 10:33 PM

I will be bringing my cum rag to both LPR and MHOW.

Posted by Anonymous | March 24, 2010 10:52 PM

fantastic

Posted by Anonymous | March 25, 2010 7:30 AM

Leave a Comment