Posted in music | tour dates on June 4, 2010

Brian Chippendale

"What lies behind the Black Hole, does Disney truly know? When the chips are finished and the human brain is no less the floppy disk of yesterday, who's to say what it will take to survive. All I can do is copy down the instructions I am given, sharpen them into a knife and stab the asshole barking orders." -Brian Chippendale

And stab and stab and stab. The sweat from stabbing has pooled into an overflowing rainbow-hued river that we are happy to present to you as Fruiting Bodies, the new solo exhibition by Brian Chippendale. Layers upon layers of silk-screened prints and drawings on paper form dense magical landscapes where moments from another world are frozen in time. The energy of this fantastical otherworld is infectious. You just want to go there and hang out with these characters and frolic in fields of mushrooms and butterflies, eat some strange plants, barter for peanut butter and maybe fight some cat-headed warriors. [Cinders Gallery]

Fruiting Bodies by Lightning Bolt drummer/vocalist Brian Chippendale will be on display at Williamsburg's Cinders Gallery from June 4th to July 3rd. There's a recption there tonight (Friday, June 4th) 7-10pm. A flyer is below.

Lightning Bolt will be touring with summer from the end of June through Whartscape in Baltimore on July 24th. Full tour dates are below...

Brian Chippendale

Lightning Bolt - 2010 Tour Dates
Tue 06/29/10 The Ox Warehouse Philadelphia PA
Wed 06/30/10 DC9 Washington DC
Thu 07/01/10 The Milestone Charlotte NC
Fri 07/02/10 Local 506 Chapel Hill NC Clang Quartet
Sat 07/03/10 Pilot Light Knoxville TN
Sun 07/04/10 Eyedrum Atlanta GA
Mon 07/05/10 Wills Pub Orlando FL Yip Yip, Dr. Moonstein
Tue 07/06/10 Churchills Pub Miami FL Rat Bastard , Laundry Room Squelchers
Wed 07/07/10 The Farside Collective Tallahassee FL Inter Arma, Bastard Sampling
Thu 07/08/10 Zeitgeist Multi Dscplnry Arts New Orleans LA Emily McWilliams, Pumpkin
Fri 07/09/10 Kohn's Houston TX Indian Jewelry, Guards
Sat 07/10/10 The Mohawk Austin TX Indian Jewelry, Guards
Sun 07/11/10 Trees Dallas TX Best Fwends, Guards
Mon 07/12/10 Arkansas Community Arts Cooperative (ACAC) Little Rock AR Transmography, Cracker Creeptacular
Tue 07/13/10 The Jackpot Saloon Lawrence KS Ree-Yees
Wed 07/14/10 Gabes Iowa City IA
Thu 07/15/10 Triple Rock Social Club Minneapolis MN Knife World, Sea Whores
Fri 07/16/10 The Bay View American Legion Hall Milwaukee WI
Sun 07/18/10 Pitchfork Music Festival Chicago IL
Mon 07/19/10 Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit Detroit MI Wolf Eyes
Tue 07/20/10 Rhinos Bloomington IN JEFF the Brotherhood
Wed 07/21/10 Southgate House Newport KY JEFF the Brotherhood
Thu 07/22/10 Grog Shop Cleveland Heights OH JEFF the Brotherhood
Fri 07/23/10 Belvedere's Pittsburgh PA Dire Wolves, Centipede Eest
Sat 07/24/10 Whartscape Baltimore MD

---

      

Comments (5)

nice. hopefully lightning bolt add an nyc area show. Maybe a pool party show on july 25th?

Posted by Anonymous | June 4, 2010 2:02 PM

Fuck - No NYC/NJ gigs.

Posted by Anonymous | June 4, 2010 2:05 PM

Lightning Bolt at Cinders tonight. Am already in line.

Posted by Anonymous | June 4, 2010 2:08 PM

hopefully he'll add a show at the backyard in bushwick

Posted by Anonymous | June 4, 2010 3:51 PM

Siamese Dream and Mellon Collie were really good albums. Got them when they came out, still throw them on at times and think they're great. It saddens me when I hear bands from that era when I was a teenager and hear their new stuff and it's so clear how they've lost it, they sound desperate to recapture a sound/magic that they haven't had in 15 years (holy shit).... And then I realize that is not unlike a lot of us.

Posted by منتديات | January 22, 2011 7:54 AM

Leave a Comment