Posted in music | tour dates on August 6, 2010

by BBG

DOWNLOAD: Sleepy Sun - "Open Eyes" (MP3)

Sleepy Sun at ATP 2009 (more by Ryan Muir)
Sleepy Sun

Sleepy Sun packed the room with fans that drove up from San Diego to catch them play old and new tunes. Playing a healthy mix of numbers off their previous CD "Embrace", their new release "Fever", and currently unreleased numbers, Sleepy Sun took the room willingly hostage into unknown musical terrain that fed the soul and ears.

Slamming the jams with the supernova sound of "Marina" off of "Fever". This opening number cracked the paint of the walls with its forceful, magnifigant beats, electrifying Hendrix-guitar stylings, intense vocals, and eclectic arrangements. The band is at their best in this newer track because it showcases what they do well in previous numbers then tightens that up into a compact, yet skillfully accomplished piece of work.-[examiner review from July 23rd in LA]

They killed it at ATP 2009, and now Sleepy Sun will return to the fest again in 2010 along with an accompanying NYC show on 9/6 with Sweet Apple and Sian Alice Group at Knitting Factory. Tickets are on sale. The show is part of an intersecting tour routing for Sleepy Sun and Sweet Apple. The one off date will serve as their only pairing before each moves in their own separate directions. Full tour skeds are below.

Sleepy Sun have a new LP out now, Fever, via ATP Recordings. Dig on one track, "Open Eyes", from that LP above and check out the video for it and all tour dates below.

Sleepy Sun - "Open Eyes"

SLEEPY SUN - 2010 TOUR DATES
Fri 6th Aug Bielersee Festival, Vinelz
Sat 7th Aug Les Nuits Secretes, Aulnoye Aymeries
Sun 8th Aug Standon Calling Festival, Standon
Wed 11th Aug Oya Festival, Oslo
Thu 12th Aug Way Out West Festival, Gothenburg
Fri 13th Aug Musikcafeen, Aarhus w/ Bear In Heaven
Sat 14th Aug Haldern Pop Festival, Haldern
Sun 15th Aug Melkweg, Amsterdam w/ Bear In Heaven
Tue 17th Aug Bush Hall, London w/ Hush Arbors
Wed 18th Aug Brudenell Social Club, Leeds w/ The Besnard Lakes
Thu 19th Aug Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh
Fri 20th Aug Green Man Festival, Brecon Beacons
Sat 21st Aug Pukkelpop Festival, Hasselt
Sun 22nd Aug Lowlands Festival, Biddinghuizen
Tue 24th Aug Hafenklang, Hamburg
Wed 25th Aug Noorderzon Festival, Groningen
Thu 26th Aug Zomerparkfest, Venlo
Fri 27th Aug Zurich Open Air, Zurich
Sat 4th Sep ATP New York 2010 Kutshers Country Club, Monticello
Mon 6th Sep Knitting Factory, Brooklyn w/ Sweet Apple
Tue 7th Sep The Blockley Pourhouse, Philadelphia w/ Akron Family
Wed 8th Sep Black Cat Mainstage, Washington D.C. w/ Akron Family
Thu 9th Sep Pour House - Hopscotch Festival, Raleigh w/ Akron Family
Fri 10th Sep Snug Harbor, Charlotte
Sat 11th Sep BottleTree, Birmingham
Sun 12th Sep E.A.R.L., Atlanta
Mon 13th Sep The Social, Orlando
Tue 14th Sep Respectable Street, West Palm Beach
Wed 15th Sep Club Downunder, Tallahassee
Fri 17th Sep Orange Show Center for Visionary Arts, Houston
Sat 18th Sep The Parish, Austin
Sun 19th Sep The Loft, Dallas
Mon 20th Sep The Conservatory, Oklahoma City
Tue 21st Sep Cain's 2nd Stage, Tulsa
Thu 23rd Sep Sail Inn, Tempe
Fri 24th Sep Beauty Bar, Las Vegas

--
SWEET APPLE - 2010 TOUR DATES
Sep 3 2010 Flywheel Easthampton, Massachuse
Sep 4 2010 AS220 Providence, Rhode Isla
Sep 5 2010 The Middle East (downstairs) Cambridge, Massachuse
Sep 6 2010 Knitting Factory Brooklyn Brooklyn, NY
Oct 21 2010 9:30 Club Washington, DC*
Oct 22 2010 Cat's Cradle Carrboro, N.C.*
Oct 23 2010 Buckhead Theater Atlanta, Georgia*
* with Guided By Voices

---

      

Comments (7)

I saw them for the first time at ATP NY and was blown away. Cant wait to catch them again, they are awesome.

Posted by Anonymous | August 6, 2010 5:49 PM

It's about time.

Posted by Anonymous | August 6, 2010 5:49 PM

SLEEPY SUN IS FUCKING AWESOME!!! Seen them 3 times now (Again at ATP this year for a 4th) and each time they deliver on all fronts. Such promising talent.

Also, Rachel Fannan of Sleepy Sun will be playing the Knitting Factory on Sept. 2nd @ noon.

Posted by Anonymous | August 6, 2010 5:52 PM

This band deserves to be talked about more....

Posted by Anonymous | August 6, 2010 8:41 PM

Rocking show dude!!!! I love its picture.. This band deserves to be talked about more....

Posted by vps | August 7, 2010 12:02 AM

They are playing at Knitting Factory the Monday after ATP NY. Check them out if you are missing out on the festival. Seen them twice and each time it was great. Their new record is really good too, try it out people of BV.

Posted by Anonymous | August 7, 2010 12:11 AM

This is one of the best bands around right now - so psyched to see them written about.

Posted by Anonymous | August 8, 2010 2:12 PM

Leave a Comment