Posted in music | tour dates on November 16, 2010

RIP

A few days after canceling their tour due to a family emergency, the Dum Dum Girls posted the above picture to Facebook with the note, "R.I.P. to the original Dee Dee. May her face grace record collections all over the world." Though that's not the exact picture above, as "Dee Dee" of the Dum Dum Girls once wrote, her mom's "senior year high school yearbook photo is on the cover of Dum Dum Girls' first 12-inch." Her mom's picture is also on the cover of their debut full length, I Will Be, that was released via Sub Pop in March. I hope she's hanging in there. R.I.P. original Dee Dee.

Dum Dum Girls will return to the stage on December 21st for a one-off LA show with Abe Vigoda. They'll return to the road in February for a tour that has them at Bowery Ballroom in NYC on March 4th. No word yet on who will be touring with them, though I vote for Crocodiles who cancelled their tour for the same reason. If that happens, then there would be dueling indie rock couple touring going on, as Wavves and Best Coast will be on the road together around the same time.

All Dum Dum Girls dates below...

--

Dum Dum Girls - 2010-2011 tour dates
Tue 12.21.10 Los Angeles, CA Echoplex w/ Abe Vigoda
Wed 02.16.11 San Francisco, CA Bottom of the Hill
Fri 02.18.11 San Diego, CA The Casbah
Mon 02.21.11 Denver, CO Hi Dive
Wed 02.23.11 St. Louis, MO Billiken Club
Thu 02.24.11 Chicago, IL Empty Bottle
Fri 02.25.11 Detroit, MI Magic Stick
Sat 02.26.11 Toronto, ONT El Mocambo
Sun 02.27.11 Montreal, QUE Il Motore
Tue 03.01.11 Burlington, VT Metronome
Wed 03.02.11 Boston, MA Brighton Music Hall
Fri 03.04.11 New York, NY Bowery Ballroom
Sat 03.05.11 Philadelphia, PA Johnny Brenda's
Sun 03.06.11 Washington, DC Black Cat
Tue 03.08.11 Chapel Hill, NC Local 506
Thu 03.10.11 Atlanta, GA The Earl
Fri 03.11.11 Jacksonville, FL Jackrabbits
Sat 03.12.11 Orlando, FL The Social

---

      

Comments (3)

I offer my condolences!.

In my opinion the beautiful cover of (i will be) dee dees mother is one of the best I've seen in years deeply heart felt and commemorative.

Posted by AstralForest | November 16, 2010 7:39 PM

Wonderful post and the location is beautiful and elegant in design and information and everything>>> to Favorites
Amazing is an enormous understatement. One of the best electronic shows I've ever been to and I've seen well over a thousand concerts. I had no idea Vladislav Delay was as good a drummer & percussionist as he is- fabulous and he kept everything swinging with a very unique style of playing. If you missed this you missed out big time...
===================
http://forum.3rbpic.com

Posted by يوتيوب القمة | March 2, 2011 1:49 AM

I am so sorry to hear about the loss....she will be greatly missed. Thank you for the information, it brought light to a few things that I was wondering.

Posted by Robert David Strong | April 30, 2013 6:10 PM

Leave a Comment