Posted in music | tour dates on February 16, 2011

AgesandAges

Tim Perry, the singer and songwriter behind the local band AgesandAges, has started a cult. You can join, but first you've got to drop out of society.

"The whole album is about willful isolation, a voluntary detachment from the rest of civilization," Perry says. "But it's as much of an effort to bring people into the fold as it is to keep it isolated."

Also of paramount importance is commitment. "If it makes sense to you, then let's do it full force, but don't muck up the path with negative rhetoric or with your physical presence."

Despite the tone of separatism that serves as the album's theme, the delivery of the 12 songs on AgesandAges' debut of brisk indie-folk, "Alright You Restless," is actively sunny, inducing an "Up With People" vibe. Each song is presented like an inspirational manifesto echoed by a seven-member choir attesting to the message." [Oregon Live]

Portland's AgesandAges's new LP was just released on 2/15 via Knitting Factory Records. Check out their new video for "Navy Parade (escape from the Black River bluffs)" below.

The Northwestern band is hitting the road with Olympia, Washington group LAKE for a North American tour in middle April and will descend upon NYC for two dates later that month: April 29 at Knitting Factory with Iowa's Paleo, and April 30th at Mercury Lounge with Sea of Bees. AgesandAges will also be representin' at SXSW (exact dates TBA).

All AgesandLake tour dates, that new video and more below....

--
AgesandAges "Navy Parade (escape from the Black River bluffs)" (BV premiere)

AgesandAges - No Nostalgia (Live at The Woods)

AgesandAges - So So Freely (Live at The Woods)

AgesandAges

AgesandAges - 2011 Tour Dates
Tue 04/12/11 The Woods Portland OR *
Thu 04/14/11 Hemlock Tavern San Francisco CA *
Fri 04/15/11 The Biko House Isla Vista CA *
Sat 04/16/11 Bootleg Theater Los Angeles CA *
Sun 04/17/11 Trunk Space Phoenix AZ * , French Quarter
Tue 04/19/11 Swiss House (AKA Mountain House) Dallas TX *
Wed 04/20/11 The Mohawk Austin TX *
Thu 04/21/11 Allways Lounge New Orleans LA *
Fri 04/22/11 Farm 255 Athens GA *
Sat 04/23/11 Duke Coffeehouse Durham NC *
Mon 04/25/11 Twisted Branch Tea Bazaar Charlottesville VA *
Tue 04/26/11 Golden West Cafe Baltimore MD * , Wisdom Tooth
Wed 04/27/11 Red Palace Washington DC *
Thu 04/28/11 Kung Fu Necktie Philadelphia PA *
Fri 04/29/11 Knitting Factory - Brooklyn Brooklyn NY * and Paleo
Sat 04/30/11 Mercury Lounge New York NY * and Seas of Bees
Sun 05/01/11 Brighton Music Hall Boston MA * and Julia Esterlin
Mon 05/02/11 The Monkey House Winooski VT *
Tue 05/03/11 Le Divan Orange Montreal QC *
Wed 05/04/11 The Shop Toronto ON *
Thu 05/05/11 Cedar's Lounge Youngstown OH *
Fri 05/06/11 The Bishop Bloomington IN * , Vollmar
Sat 05/07/11 Founders Brewing Company Grand Rapids MI *
Sun 05/08/11 Schubas Tavern Chicago IL *
Mon 05/09/11 Cactus Club Milwaukee WI *
Tue 05/10/11 7th Street Entry Minneapolis MN *
Fri 05/13/11 Biltmore Cabaret Vancouver BC *
Sat 05/14/11 Northern Olympia WA *
Sun 05/15/11 The Tractor Tavern Seattle WA *
Fri 08/05/11 Pickathon Portland OR

---

      

Comments (11)

Totally off topic but the last time I saw the AgesandAges , there was this amazingly annoying couple who were not only talking during the whole show but were talking about TMI info. The guy kept asking her "Do you like my seven and a half inches? Do you like my seven and a half inches? Is it the biggest you've ever had?" Yeah bro you're cool

Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2011 5:01 PM

If you, or anyone you know, is dating anybody in this band tell them to end it now.

What a pompous photo.

Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2011 5:05 PM

did rusted root get haircuts and new clothes ???

Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2011 5:17 PM

smile you fucks

Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2011 5:20 PM

Are they a "musical collective"? Did they sneak across the border from Canada? Is TMI the worst meme ever?

Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2011 6:02 PM

Is this like The Suburbs, part 2?

If I do want to muck up the path, am I allowed to listen to their message/gospel?

Do they live within the city limits of Portland, or are do they have a commune outside in the hills?

Is that actually Richard Ashcroft from The Verve, with a new band?

Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2011 6:51 PM

There's a band in that photo? All I see are trees.

Posted by Anonymous | February 16, 2011 10:12 PM

My play count for this album is already past 20 on my work computer alone. In related news, my desire to join a commune has increased at least ten-fold.

Posted by Anonymouse | February 17, 2011 10:01 AM

BS hipster hype machine strikes again

Posted by Anonymous | February 28, 2011 1:33 PM

OMG this band is totally awesome and I'm totally for sure not in this band. This is not weird propaganda that I am craftily foisting upon unsuspecting music appreciators. Screw talent, marketing!

Posted by Anonymous | February 28, 2011 2:01 PM

Best local band I have heard in a long time. The rest of your comments on this page suck unless you are saying how great this band is.

Posted by Anonymous | February 28, 2011 10:14 PM

Leave a Comment