Posted in music | tour dates on April 11, 2011

Black Joe Lewis & the Honeybears
Black Joe Lewis

Black Joe Lewis himself brings a classic James Brown howl and a raunchy sense of humor to some great talking blues moments, but what makes these guys much more than just a gimmick are the musical skills that underlie everything they do. They just groove. With another year of shows under their belt, white dude band mates Zach Ernst (guitar) and Bill Stevenson (bass) have ratcheted up their swagger enough to share the stage comfortably with their charismatic frontman.-[Hippies Are Dead]
The above review comes from the March 25th date show at Bowery Ballroom, the first of two shows at the venue for tourmates Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears and Those Darlins (they did it again the next night). The pair's trek is still ongoing, terminating soon in Santa Cruz before Black Joe Lewis heads to an appearance at Coachella.

After a couple weeks off, Black Joe Lewis will reemerge in Mississippi at the tail end of April for a few dates before heading out on tour with Sharon Jones & the Dap Kings. Those Darlins will still be going strong with their seemingly neverending tour. Both bands will eventually loop back to the NYC-area to play Maxwell's within a day of each other; Those Darlins play Maxwell's on 6/11 (tickets) and Black Joe Lewis hits Maxwell's on 6/12 (tickets). Neither has a NYC show scheduled at that time, but both have plenty of free days right around then (free summer shows TBA?).

Both Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears and Those Darlins recently dropped some new material. BJL's new and-Jim-Eno-produced LP, Scandalous, as well as the new Those Darlins LP Screws Get Loose, are out now. All dates and a couple of videos, below...

--
Black Joe Lewis and the Honeybears - New album Scandalous March 15 2011!

Those Darlins - Mystic Mind (Denver, CO 4/6/2011)

BLACK JOE LEWIS & THE HONEYBEARS - 2011 TOUR DATES
Mon Apr 11, 2011 Arcata, CA Humboldt Brews w/ The Preservation
Wed Apr 13, 2011 San Francisco, CA The Independent w/ Those Darlins
Thu Apr 14, 2011 Santa Cruz, CA Rio Theatre with Those Darlins
Fri Apr 15, 2011 Indio, CA Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival -
Fri Apr 29, 2011 Oxford, MS Double Decker Festival -
Sat Apr 30, 2011 Norman, OK Norman Music Festival -
Sun May 01, 2011 Phoenix, AZ McDowell Mountain Music Festiva
Fri May 06, 2011 New Orleans, LA One Eyed Jacks -
Tue May 10, 2011 Montreal, QC Metropolis Theatre *
Wed May 11, 2011 Ottawa, ON Bronson Centre *
Thu May 12, 2011 Toronto, ON The Sound Academy *
Fri May 13, 2011 London, ON London Music Hall *
Sat May 14, 2011 Pontiac, MI The Crofoot Ballroom *
Mon May 16, 2011 Madison, WI Capitol Theater *
Tue May 17, 2011 Minneapolis, MN State Theatre *
Wed May 18, 2011 Fargo, ND Fargo Theatre *
Fri May 20, 2011 Winnipeg, MB The Garrick Centre *
Sun May 22, 2011 Saskatoon, SK Louis' Pub *
Tue May 24, 2011 Edmonton, AB Starlite Room *
Wed May 25, 2011 Calgary, AB MacEwan Hall *
Fri May 27, 2011 Vancouver, BC Malkin Bowl *
Sat May 28, 2011 Victoria, BC Alix Goolden Hall *
Sat Jun 04, 2011 Houston, TX Free Press Summer Fest -
Sun Jun 12, 2011 Hoboken, NJ Maxwell's
Fri Jun 24, 2011 Louisville, KY Iriquois Amphitheater +
Sat Jun 25, 2011 Indianapolis, IN The Lawn at White River State Park +
Sat Jul 02, 2011 Portland, OR McCall Waterfront Park Waterfront Blues Festival
Sun Jul 03, 2011 Portland, OR McCall Waterfront Park -
Sat Jul 16, 2011 Greenfield, MA Green River Festival -
Sat Sep 10, 2011 Bowling Green, OH Black Swamp Arts Festival -
* w/ Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings
+ w/ Umphrey's McGee

--
THOSE DARLINS - 2011 TOUR DATES
04/13/11 San Francisco The Independent US^
04/14/11 Santa Cruz Rio Theatre US^
04/16/11 Goleta, CA Mercury Lounge US
04/17/11 Long Beach, CA Alex's Bar US
04/18/11 San Diego Soda Bar US
04/19/11 Los Angeles The Satellite US
04/20/11 Tucson, AZ Club Congress US
04/22/11 Denton, TX Rubber Gloves US
04/23/11 Austin, TX The Mohawk US
04/30/11 Nashville, TN Mercy Lounge US
05/05/11 Chattanooga JJ's Bohemia US
05/06/11 Chattanooga JJ's Bohemia US
05/10/11 Augusta, GA Sky City US
05/11/11 Jacksonville, FL Jack Rabbits US*
05/12/11 West Palm Beach, FL Roxy's Saloon US*
05/14/11 Ybor City Crowbar US
05/15/11 Charleston, SC The Pour House US
06/02/11 Ozark, Arkansas Wakarusa Festival US
06/03/11 Keithville, LA Rustic Cowboy US
06/04/11 Houston, TX Free Press Fest US
06/05/11 New Orleans, LA One Eyed Jacks US
06/09/11 Charlotte, NC Tremont Music Hall: Casbah Room US
06/10/11 Vienna, VA Jammin' Java US
06/11/11 Hoboken, NJ Maxwell's US
06/14/11 Philadelphia, PA Johnny Brenda's US
06/15/11 Washington, DC John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts: Millennium Stage US
06/17/11 Pittsburgh, PA Brillobox US
06/18/11 Greenwood, VA Campout East: Misty Mountain Camp Resort US
07/16/11 Louisville, KY Lebowski Fest US
* w/The Whigs
^ w/Black Joe Lewis

---

      

Comments (2)

Cool, this must be a variation on 'Dogs Playing Poker'


Fags Playing Pool

Posted by Anonymous | April 11, 2011 12:54 PM

^ As much as I hate to admit, that above comment made me laugh!!

- SON LUX STEVENS

Posted by Anonymous | April 11, 2011 2:32 PM

Leave a Comment