Posted in Contests | music | tour dates on July 7, 2011

Paramount Theater and Convention Hall
Asbury Park

Bob Dylan has added even more dates to his previously announced summer tour. The new dates include Asbury Park Convention Hall on August 14 in NJ. Leon Russell opens the show like he does on many other dates of the tour. Tickets go on sale Friday (7/8) at 10 AM and currently available for bobdylan.com pre-sale with the password "clarence."

Other upcoming shows at Asbury Park Convention Hall include ATP NJ on Sep 30-Oct 2 and Pixies playing 'Doolittle' on October 28 with Surfer Blood. We're giving away tickets to that Pixies show which you can win by following the directions below. Pixies play Wellmont Theater in Montclair on the same tour.

Updated Bob Dylan dates and the Pixies contest below...

--

TO WIN PIXIES TIX: email BVCONTESTS@HOTMAIL.COM (subject: Pixies Asbury Park). Include your first and last name in the email Winner will be randomly selected and contacted. Good luck! FYI, don't worry, your name/email will not be used for anything else.

Bob Dylan -- 2011 Tour Dates
Thu 06/16/11 Cork, Ireland Docklands
Sat 06/18/11 London, United Kingdom Finsbury Park
Mon 06/20/11 Tel Aviv, Israel Ramat Gan Stadium
Wed 06/22/11 Milan, Italy Alcatraz Appearing at "Sursee Summer Sound"
Fri 06/24/11 Sursee, Switzerland Sursee Ssummer Sound Festival Grounds
Sat 06/25/11 Mainz, Germany Mainzer Volkspark
Sun 06/26/11 Hamburg, Germany Freilichtbuhne Stadtpark
Mon 06/27/11 Odense, Denmark Funen Village
Wed 06/29/11 Bergen, Norway Bergenhus Festning
Thu 06/30/11 Oslo, Norway Oslo Spektrum Arena ANS
Sat 07/02/11 Borlange, Sweden Peace & Love Festival Grounds
Thu 07/14/11 Santa Barbara, CA Santa Barbara Bowl
Fri 07/15/11 Costa Mesa, CA Pacific Amphitheatre
Sat 07/16/11 Las Vegas, NV Pearl Concert Theater
Mon 07/18/11 Phoenix, AZ Comerica Theatre
Tue 07/19/11 Tucson, AZ Anselmo Valencia Tori Amphitheatre
Thu 07/21/11 Albuquerque, NM Hard Rock Casino Albuquerque Presents The Pavilion
Sat 07/23/11 Thackerville, OK Winstar World Casino
Sun 07/24/11 New Braunfels, TX Whitewater Amphitheatre*
Tue 07/26/11 New Orleans, LA Lakefront Arena*
Wed 07/27/11 Pensacola, FL Pensacola Civic Center*
Thu 07/28/11 Atlanta, GA Chastain Park Amphitheatre*
Sat 07/30/11 Memphis, TN Mud Island Amphitheatre*
Mon 08/01/11 Nashville, TN Ryman Auditorium*
Tue 08/02/11 Evansville, IN Roberts Stadium*
Wed 08/03/11 Toledo, OH Toledo Zoo Amphitheatre*
Fri 08/05/11 Kettering, OH Fraze Pavilion For The Perf. Arts*
Sat 08/06/11 Cleveland, OH Jacobs Pavilion At Nautica*
Sun 08/07/11 Rochester, MI Meadow Brook Music Festival*
Tue 08/09/11 Canandaigua, NY Constellation Brands - Marvin Sands PAC (CMAC)*
Wed 08/10/11 Scranton, PA Toyota Pavilion At Montage Mountain*
Fri 08/12/11 Bethel, NY Bethel Woods Center For The Arts*
Thu 08/13/11 Wantagh, NY Nikon at Jones Beach Theater*
Fri 08/14/11 Asbury Park, NJ Asbury Park Convention Hall*
Tue 08/16/11 Columbia, MD Marjorie Merriweather Post Pavillion*
Wed 08/17/11 Philadelphia, PA Mann Music Center*
Fri 08/19/11 Gilford, NH Meadowbrook U.S. Cellular Pavilion*
Sat 08/20/11 Bangor, ME Downtown Bangor / Bangor Waterfront*
* - w/ Leon Russell

---

      

Comments (24)

woohoo great to see convention hall coming back!

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 1:46 PM

@1:46- agreed, love seeing shows at the convention hall

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 1:58 PM

btw, the dates of the week are all off for these dates (i.e. the 8/14 show is on a Sunday, not a Friday)

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 2:03 PM

Nice to see AP coming back, even if it's just a little.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 2:13 PM

I like Asbury park better when it was completely run-down like 10 or 15 years ago. This whole revitalization project is making it less and less authentic.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 2:51 PM

^ Yeah, just like... oh, never mind.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 2:55 PM

2:55 ... "and it's at the wall, and ... IT'S OUTTA HERE!"

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 3:15 PM

What the hell was authentic about AP 10-15 years ago? More like barren and creepy except for The Saint and the Stone Pony which was pretty schizophrenic with its booking.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 3:25 PM

folkier than Hitler

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 3:30 PM

AP when it was all but abandoned was so freaking cool I can't even describe. But now it's just another uninteresting expensive tourist trap bullcrap vision of mall culture.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 4:18 PM

How much would YOU pay to see an geriatric with early onset Alzheimers who hasn't made a good album in 30+ years? :)

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 4:21 PM

Better question:

How much would you pay ME to see an geriatric with early onset Alzheimers who hasn't made a good album ever? :)

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 4:33 PM

"AP when it was all but abandoned was so freaking cool I can't even describe. But now it's just another uninteresting expensive tourist trap bullcrap vision of mall culture."

If you have such a profound emotional attachment to squalor, I can't recommend Detroit highly enough.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 4:37 PM

4:18 hit it on the head. You fools probably like NYC the way it is now, completely WHITEWASHED.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 5:08 PM

Not an apt comparison, 5:08. I'd give anything to have the old East Village back and a Meatpacking District full of tranny hookers instead of Eurotrash.

But Asbury Park was not a living, breathing place. It was a decaying, uninhabited shithole with interesting architectural ruins. Nothing stopped money people from turning it into Hipsterlandia except for the fact that they didn't get to be money people by being fucking idiots. Development down there is, by necessity, mass appeal family-oriented because you really have to recoup your investment in the summer months.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 5:22 PM

The last time I was at the Convention Hall, I saw The Clash. That was back in '82. God, I can still remember that show like it was yesterday.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 5:23 PM

Hahaha, 4:37! How true.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 5:30 PM

"If you have such a profound emotional attachment to squalor, I can't recommend Detroit highly enough."

Detroit's too far. AP is only an hour and a half

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 9:45 PM

fixing up AP without any rides but all retail is bullshit

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 9:48 PM

alert the asbury park police a homeless dude that looks like dylan will be wandering around the streets looking at homes.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 10:19 PM

I agree, 9:48. There really should be amusements in Asbury. That and a giant can of guido repellent.

Posted by Anonymous | July 7, 2011 11:41 PM

If you remember that Clash show, you did it wrong.

Posted by Anonymous | July 8, 2011 6:10 PM

I only remember it because I wasn't stoned that day haha, unlike that firecracker maniac.

Posted by Anonymous | July 9, 2011 4:57 PM

woohoo great to see convention hall coming back!

Posted by Coins Silver Value | January 8, 2013 11:40 PM

Leave a Comment