Posted in music | tour dates on August 1, 2011

Richard Thompson

British folk troubadour Richard Thompson, an original member of the pivotal folk rock group Fairport Convention, one half of a more intimate duo with his now-ex-wife Linda Thompson, and a prolific solo artist, is going on an extensive North American solo tour with a number of different openers including My Brightest Diamond, John Prine, and others on select dates. The tour hits NYC on October 15 at Town Hall with support from Sarah Jarosz. Tickets for the NYC show go on sale Friday (8/5) at noon with an AmEx pre-sale starting Wednesday (8/3) at noon.

All dates and some videos of Richard and his band at Wellmont Theatre last year below...

--
Richard Thompson - "Al Bowly's In Heaven" at Wellmont 10/22/10

Richard Thompson - "Tear Stained Letter" at Wellmont 10/22/10

Richard Thompson -- 2011 Tour Dates
Fri, 5 August 2011 Wickham, Hampshire, UK Wickham Festival 2011 RT Solo
Fri, 26 August 2011 Vienna, VA Filene Center - Wolf Trap RT Solo, with John Prine
Sat, 27 August 2011 Baltimore, MD Pier Six Pavillion RT Solo, with John Prine
Mon, 29 August 2011 Portsmouth, NH The Music Hall RT Solo
Tue, 30 August 2011 Brownfield, ME Stone Mountain Arts Center RT Solo
Wed, 31 August 2011 Westbrook, ME Westbrook PAC RT Solo Opening Act: Robin Lane
Fri, 2 September 2011 Lowell, MA Boarding House Park - Lowell Summer Music Series RT Solo Opening Act: Liz Longley
Sat, 3 September 2011 Charlestown, RI Rhythm & Roots Festival RT Solo
Sun, 4 September 2011 Westhampton, NY Westhampton Beach PAC RT Solo
Tue, 6 September 2011 Montreal, Quebec, CA Corona Theater RT Solo Opening Act: Eliza Gilkyson
Wed, 7 September 2011 Ottawa, Ontario, CA Bronson Centre RT Solo Opening Act: Del Barber
Thu, 8 September 2011 Toronto, Ontario, CA The Royal Conservatory RT Solo
Sat, 10 September 2011 Champaign, IL Ellnora Guitar Festival - Colwell Playhouse RT Solo Opening Act: My Brightest Diamond
Sun, 11 September 2011 Evanston, IL SPACE RT Solo
Mon, 12 September 2011 Evanston, IL SPACE RT Solo
Sat, 1 October 2011 Milwaukee, WI Vogel Hall RT Solo
Sun, 2 October 2011 Stoughton, WI Opera House RT Solo
Tue, 4 October 2011 Cincinnati, OH 20th Century Theatre RT Solo
Wed, 5 October 2011 Columbus, OH Southern Theater RT Solo
Thu, 6 October 2011 Kent, OH Kent Stage RT Solo
Sat, 8 October 2011 Ithaca, NY State Theatre RT Solo
Mon, 10 October 2011 Middlebury, VT Town Hall Theatre RT Solo
Tue, 11 October 2011 White River Junction, VT Tupelo Music Hall RT Solo
Thu, 13 October 2011 Albany, NY The Egg RT Solo
Fri, 14 October 2011 Great Barrington, MA Mahaiwe Theatre RT Solo
Sat, 15 October 2011 New York, NY Town Hall RT Solo Opening Act: Sarah Jarosz
Sun, 16 October 2011 Glenside, PA Keswick Theatre RT Solo
Wed, 19 October 2011 Wilmington, DE Grand Opera House RT Solo
Thu, 20 October 2011 Annapolis, MD Maryland Hall for the Creative Arts RT Solo
Fri, 2 December 2011 Saratoga, CA Montalvo Center RT Solo
Sat, 3 December 2011 Saratoga, CA Montalvo Center RT Solo
Sun, 4 December 2011 Saratoga, CA Montalvo Center RT Solo
Sun, 5 February 2012 Miami, FL Norwegian Pearl Cayamo Cruise 2012 - A Journey Through Song RT Solo, RT Electric Trio, and Loud & Rich

---

      

Comments (11)

Now HERE'S an underrated guitarist I'd like to see perform!

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 4:13 PM

FUCK YES! IT'S ABOUT TIME!

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 4:15 PM

Frohawk > Richard Thompson
Hummus > Waves
Frohawk + Hummus > Chill-brunch

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 4:17 PM

brunchwave > JEF the brotherhood > Liturgy > Kurt Vile > anal warts (but not by much)

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 4:28 PM

ugh. dude almost singlehandedly ruined grizzly man

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 4:34 PM

^^ lulz so you thought Grizzly Man was a good movie apart from Richard Thompson? Fuck, you don't leave the house much do you.

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 4:43 PM

^^ yea i did think it was a great movie. so did a lot of people. herzog rules. suck it!!!!!!!

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/grizzly_man/

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 5:28 PM

Richard Thompson was in Grizzly Man? When?

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 9:36 PM

Timothy Treadwell

Posted by Anonymous | August 1, 2011 10:19 PM

Lol the comments made me laugh.

Posted by Bobby Joe | August 2, 2011 12:56 AM

I'm sure lots of people are excited to see him on tour.

Posted by Gordon | September 19, 2011 10:49 AM

Leave a Comment