Posted in MP3 | music | tour dates on January 9, 2012

by Andrew Sacher

DOWNLOAD: Cloud Nothings - "No Future/No Past" (MP3)
DOWNLOAD: Cloud Nothings - "Stay Useless" (MP3)

Cloud Nothings at FFF Fest (more by Tim Griffin)
Cloud Nothings

As mentioned, Cloud Nothings are releasing their sophomore album, Attack On Memory, on January 24 via Carpark and playing a NYC show at The Studio at Webster Hall two days later (1/26) before heading out on a full tour in support of the album. Bleeding Rainbow and Jump Into the Gospel open the Studio show and most of the rest of the tour includes dates with A Classic Education and Mr. Dream. Tickets for the Studio at Webster Hall show are still available.

Less than a minute into desolate album opener "No Future/No Past" (download above) it's clear that Cloud Nothings are miles beyond the Wavves-y pop punk of their self titled debut. And while I was not a huge fan of that debut, Attack On Memory is immediately winning me over. There's a real '90s Seattle/Sub Pop vibe with frontman Dylan Baldi embracing the lengthy moans of Sunny Day Real Estate's Jeremy Enigk and the pack-a-day grit of Kurt Cobain on In Utero (which, like this album, had Steve Albini behind the boards). Albini's overexposed production lets you lean in so closely to Dylan's screams that you can feel the pain his throat must have been going through while recording. But while his production is an essential part of this record's sound, Albini doesn't deserve all the credit. Cloud Nothings are truly a different band than they were a year ago. The second track, "Wasted Days," is bridged by a long instrumental passage until Dylan brings in the most blood-spitting screams on the album. The album does still have its poppier moments ("Fall In," "Cut You," "Stay Useless," the latter of which you can download above) but they're delivered with far more confidence and grit than anything the band have put out before. "Separation" is an entirely instrumental track, transitioning ferocious guitar-driven passages in a Sonic Youth type fashion, and even diving into some scrapey SY-type riffs. That track is followed with the album's last moment of pure dirtiness with "No Sentiment," which has enough Dave Grohl-like drum fills to pass as an In Utero b-side.

You can preorder the album from Insound and get a free exclusive poster (pictured below) while supplies last.

"No Future/No Past" and "Stay Useless" can be downloaded above and streamed below, along with all dates and poster...

--
Cloud Nothings - "No Future/No Past"
Cloud Nothings - No Future No Past by brooklynvegan

Cloud Nothings - "Stay Useless"
Cloud Nothings - Stay Useless by brooklynvegan

Cloud Nothings Poster

Cloud Nothings -- 2012 Tour Dates
Thu 01/26/12 The Studio at Webster Hall New York NY$
Thu 02/16/12 JJ's Bohemia Chattanooga TN#
Fri 02/17/12 The Earl Atlanta GA*, Gold Bears
Sat 02/18/12 Bottletree Birmingham AL*
Mon 02/20/12 Wills Pub Orlando FL*, Telethon
Tue 02/21/12 Club Downunder Tallahassee FL*
Thu 02/23/12 Fitzgerald's Houston TX*
Fri 02/24/12 Ten Eleven San Antonio TX*
Sat 02/25/12 Red 7 Austin TX*
Sun 02/26/12 Lowbrow Palace El Paso TX*
Mon 02/27/12 Club Congress Tucson AZ*
Tue 02/28/12 The Crescent Ballroom Phoenix AZ*, w/ Otro Mudo
Wed 02/29/12 Soda Bar San Diego CA*
Thu 03/01/12 Constellation Room Santa Ana CA^
Fri 03/02/12 Echo Los Angeles CA^
Sat 03/03/12 Bottom of the Hill San Francisco CA^, w/ Your Cannons
Mon 03/05/12 Holocene Portland OR^
Tue 03/06/12 The Crocodile Seattle WA^
Wed 03/07/12 The Media Club Vancouver BC^
Thu 03/08/12 Neurolux Boise ID^
Fri 03/09/12 Kilby Court Salt Lake City UT^
Sat 03/10/12 Larimer Lounge Denver CO^, w/ School Nights
Mon 03/12/12 The Riot Room Kansas City MO^, w/ O Giant Man
Sat 03/17/12 Simon Sez McAllen TX
Tue 03/20/12 The End Nashville TN*
Wed 03/21/12 Zanzabar Louisville KY w/ The Deloreans, Go Mordecai!
Thu 03/22/12 MOTR Pub Cincinnati OH*
Sat 03/24/12 Casa del Popolo Montreal QC*
Sun 03/25/12 Brighton Music Hall Boston MA*, w/ Dirty Dishes
Mon 03/26/12 Fete Lounge Providence RI*
Fri 03/30/12 Johnny Brenda's Philadelphia PA*, w/ Bleeding Rainbow
Sat 03/31/12 Red Palace Washington DC*
Sun 04/01/12 Ottobar Baltimore MD*
Mon 04/02/12 Ninth Ward @ Babeville Buffalo NY*, w/ Sleepy Hahas
Tue 04/03/12 Brillobox Pittsburgh PA*
Wed 04/04/12 Magic Stick Lounge Detroit MI*
Thu 04/05/12 Grog Shop Cleveland Heights OH*
Fri 04/06/12 Schubas Tavern Chicago IL*
Sat 04/07/12 Outland Live Columbus OH*
* - w/ A Classic Education
^ - w/ Mr. Dream
$ - w/ Bleeding Rainbow, Jump into the Gospel
# - w/ Elk Milk, Future Virgins

---

      

Comments (6)

It's the third LP. Not that anyony cares though.

Posted by Anonymous | January 10, 2012 10:34 AM

White Ring and Cloud Nothings were the two worst bands I saw last year.

Posted by Anonymous | January 10, 2012 1:15 PM

the nyc show will be sweet. i love the opener, jump into the gospel is one of my favorite bands out there these days.

Posted by knut78 | January 10, 2012 3:03 PM

they're really loud live

Posted by Anonymous | January 11, 2012 8:37 AM

It's the third LP. Not that anyony cares though.

Posted by Engadget | February 11, 2012 4:11 AM

cloud nothing rules

Posted by jordon | August 8, 2013 5:02 PM

Leave a Comment