Posted in music | tour dates on January 23, 2012

DOWNLOAD: Laura Gibson - La Grande (MP3)

Laura Gibson

Laura Gibson's latest, La Grande, is out this week via Barsuk. The album, her third, also saw her in the producer's chair. As a press release reads:

"One reason the sound of La Grande is so purposeful is that, for the first time, Gibson remained in the producer's chair throughout its making, bouncing between home- recorded vocal sessions - piling as many as 15 Laura Gibsons on certain tracks - and proper takes at Type Foundry Studios alongside engineer and good friend Adam Selzer (M Ward, Norfolk and Western) and some great players including Calexico's Joey Burns, members of The Dodos (Meric Long and Logan Kroeber) and The Decemberists (Nate Query, Jenny Conlee), clarinetist Jilly Coykendall, and the drumming duo Rachel Blumberg and Matt Berger (affectionately known together as "Blumberger"). Don't get the wrong idea, though. While La Grande 's stage is shared with some very special guests, Gibson is at the center of every last note; contributing bits of bass, guitar, piano, pump organ, vibraphone, synthesizer, marimba, even a marching drum.
And, Laura will be heading out on a tour to celebrate. That tour begins with a free show at Other Music in NYC TONIGHT (1/23 at 8pm) and continues in Boston on Wednesday (1/25), but not before she makes a radio appearance on WFUV on Tuesday (1/24). After Boston it's Philly and Virginia, but then back to NYC for a show at Mercury Lounge and a radio appearance on WFMU. All tour dates are listed below...

--
Laura Gibson -- 2012 Tour Dates
Mon. Jan 23 New York, NY In-Store / Other Music
Tues. Jan 24 Bronx, NY WFUV Radio
Wed. Jan 25 Boston, MA TT The Bears
Thurs. Jan 26 Philadelphia, PA Johnny Brendas
Fri. Jan 27 Arlington, VA Iota
Sat. Jan 28 Norfolk, VA The Attucks Theatre
Mon. Jan 30 New York, NY WFMU Radio/Mercury Lounge
Thurs. Feb 2 Seattle/Portland KEXP Radio / Music Millenium
Fri. Feb 3 Portland, OR Mississippi Studios
Sat. Feb 4 Seattle, WA Tractor Tavern
Mon. Feb 6 San Francisco, CA Bottom of the Hill
Tues. Feb 7 Santa Barbara, CA Muddy Waters Cafe
Wed. Feb 8 Los Angeles, CA Echo
Thur. Feb 9 Joshua Tree, CA Pappy & Harriet's
Fri. Feb 10 Tucson, AZ Plush
Sat. Feb 11 Marfa, TX Marfa Book Store
Sun. Feb 12 Austin, TX Mohawk
Mon. Feb 13 Houston, TX Fitzgerald's
Tues. Feb 14 Denton, TX Dan's Silverleaf
Wed. Feb 15 Norman, OK Opolis
Thur. Feb 16 Albuquerque, NM Low Spirits
Fri. Feb 17 Denver, CO Hi-Dive
Sat. Feb 18 Salt Lake City, UT Kilby Court
Sun. Feb 19 Boise, ID Neurolux
Mon. Feb 20 Pullman, WA Bell Tower

---

      

Comments (1)

I really like her.

Posted by jordon | August 7, 2013 3:53 PM

Leave a Comment