Posted in metal | music | tour dates on April 25, 2012

by BBG

y

Portland duo Wizard Rifle switch gears constantly on their new LP Speak Loud Say Nothing, an amalgamation of sludge, noise-rock, punk rock, and areas in between. The duo, who are self-described as a "scrap-metal monster... drawing from the sounds of Lightning Bolt, Karp, Sonic Youth, Black Sabbath and High on Fire", are currently blessing stages across the country, knee-deep in a set of North American tour dates that include a stop in Brooklyn at Acheron on April 28th. Full tour schedule and a stream of Speak Loud Say Nothing is below.

Bezoar, Iron Tides, and Descender are also on board for the Acheron show. Descender, who are also on board to play with Hawks & Doves (ex-Planes Mistaken for Stars), recently released the And So We Marched EP. Stream that and the new Wizard Rifle below...

--


WIZARD RIFLE - 2012 TOUR DATES
Thu, April 26 Boston, MA @ The Church w/Mind Yeti, Phantom Glue, Hero(n)
Fri, April 27 Providence, RI @ Machines with Magnets
Sat, April 28 Brooklyn, NY @ Acheron
Sun, April 29 Baltimore, MD @ Golden West w/Lady Piss, Dan Ivan
Mon, April 30 Richmond, VA @ Strange Matter
Tue, May 1 Raleigh, NC @ Slim's
Wed, May 2 Atlanta, GA @ The Drunken Unicorn w/Palaces
Thu, May 3 Birmingham, AL @ The Bottletree
Fri, May 4 Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone,
Sat, May 5 Texarkana, AR @ Dave's Skate
Sun, May 6 Austin, TX @ Red 7 w/Pushmen, Skycrawler
Mon, May 7 San Antonio, TX @ Nightrocker
Tue, May 8 Las Cruces, NM @ Trainyard
Wed, May 9 Phoenix, AZ @ Yucca Tap Room
Thu, May 10 Tucson, AZ @ Solar Culture
Fri, May 11 Los Angeles, CA @ The Joint w/Behold! The Monolith, iron Mtn
Sat, May 12 Oakland, CA @ Eli's w/Dimesland, Kowloon Walled City
Sun, May 13 San Francisco, CA @ The Knockout w/COPS, Arms & Legs
Mon, May 14 Arcata, CA @ Alibi
Fri, May 18 Portland, OR @ Plan B w/Lord Dying, Bell Witch

---

      

Comments (11)

Hell Yes

Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2012 1:28 PM

I'm in for the press photo alone. It's so difficult to take one that dares to be different but somehow doesn't come off to silly. These guys delivered...they truly come off as weird (and that's a good thing).

Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2012 2:26 PM

p.s. Then they go above and beyond the call of duty with that "Speak Loud Say Nothing" track. What a ripper!

Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2012 2:28 PM

Very good band, rough night for shows in the area.

Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2012 2:40 PM

Holden and Skip, having completed their artistic photo shoot, get back on their fixies and hurry back to the parental-subsidized Bushwick wacky loft space just in time to devour Meagan and Petra's artisinal locally-sourced vegan zuccini kale pastries. Have at it, you crazy hipsters!

Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2012 4:34 PM

Ah nice a newer band worth checking out at Acheron unlike the other cookie cutter metal bands.

Posted by Anonymous | April 26, 2012 12:51 AM

how about an iceburn comparison?

Posted by Anonymous | April 26, 2012 9:22 AM

How about a half-caff soy latte?

Posted by Anonymous | April 26, 2012 9:51 AM

not as much snark about this photo as I expected

Posted by Anonymous | April 26, 2012 10:51 AM

Buy from ebay, the worlds largest and most trusted auction site. Pay with paypal and eliminate any security issues with your credit card.

Posted by Michal | February 24, 2013 3:49 PM

wizard rules

Posted by jordon | August 1, 2013 7:10 PM

Leave a Comment