Posted in music | tour dates on November 2, 2012

by Bill Pearis

Bonnie Prince Billy at ATP NY 2011 (more by Dana [distortion] Yavin)
http://www.brooklynvegan.com/img/music/billcallahan/allenroom/28.jpg

Lincoln Center's acclaimed series American Songbook returns to the Allen Room (truly one of the most amazing concert settings in NYC) in January for its fifteenth season, which celebrates "the diversity of modern American song." The 2013 season kicks of January 30 with Lea Salonga and includes Bonnie "Prince" Billy on February 7, Sondre Lerche (who isn't American but lives in Brooklyn these days) on February 13, Mavis Staples on February 14, Tom Morello performing "The Nightwatchman" on February 16, Lost in the Trees on February 28, and more.

Additionally, there will be "six special concerts in the exceptionally intimate setting of the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse, perched high above the Lincoln Center campus" beginning with Lindsay Mendez & Marco Paguia on March 29 and concluding with Ben Sollee on April 20.

Tickets to the American Songbook series go on sale November 13 but Friends of Lincoln Center can purchase starting Monday, November 5.

Full American Songbook line-up/schedule and a video of Ben Sollee playing "A Few Honest Words" at the Lincoln Memorial are below.

---

Ben Sollee - "A Few Honest Words" at the Lincoln Memorial

2013 American Songbook schedule

IN THE ALLEN ROOM

Lea Salonga
Wednesday, January 30 at 8:30

Valerie Simpson
Thursday, January 31 at 8:30

Karen Akers
Friday, February 1 at 7:30 and 9:30

C├ęcile McLorin Salvant
Saturday, February 2 at 8:30

Ring Them Bells! Rob Fisher Celebrates Kander & Ebb featuring Marin Mazzie & Jason Danieley with special guests Joel Grey & Chita Rivera
Wednesday, February 6 at 8:30

Bonnie "Prince" Billy
Thursday, February 7 at 8:30

Stephanie Blythe: We'll Meet Again--The Songs of Kate Smith
Saturday, February 9 at 8:30

Sondre Lerche
Wednesday, February 13 at 8:30

Mavis Staples
Thursday, February 14 at 8:30

Kristin Chenoweth
Friday, February 15 at 7:30 and 9:30

Tom Morello: The Nightwatchman
Saturday, February 16 at 8:30

Kathy Mattea
Wednesday, February 27 at 8:30

Lost in the Trees
Thursday, February 28 at 8:30

The Songs of Tom Kitt & Brian Yorkey
with Alice Ripley, Brian d'Arcy James & Idina Menzel
Friday, March 1 at 7:30 and 9:30

Ingrid Michaelson
Saturday, March 2 at 8:30

IN THE PENTHOUSE

Lindsay Mendez & Marco Paguia
Friday, March 29 at 8:00

Meow Meow
Saturday, March 30 at 8:00

Cristin Milioti
Friday, April 5 at 8:00

Green Sneakers: A Song Cycle by Ricky Ian Gordon
Saturday, April 6 at 8:00

Kerrigan & Lowdermilk featuring Michael Arden, Nikki M. James & Josh Young
Friday, April 19 at 8:00

Ben Sollee
Saturday, April 20 at 8:00

---

      

Comments (6)

How much do these tickets tend to cost?

Posted by Anonymous | November 2, 2012 10:54 AM

"How much do these tickets tend to cost?"

Tickets probably start around $35-40 for the rear seats and up to like $80-85 for the closest seats.

The Allen Room really is a beautiful venue, though.

Posted by Anonymous | November 2, 2012 11:05 AM

Dayum. I like Will Oldham, but not sure I like him that much.

Posted by Anonymous | November 2, 2012 12:09 PM

tried to locate tickets for Bonnie "Prince" Billy... granted a wayz away but found no listing on JALC.ORG

There are shows listed which are after the BPB schedualled date of Feb 07, 2013

BV can you comment if and when tickets for this show become available?? Was at the ATP performance and it was one of the highlights for the 2011 ATP by far!

Posted by Anonymous | November 2, 2012 1:16 PM

not sure I like him that much.

Posted by Two way radio | February 28, 2013 12:54 AM

I love how he has his two hand's out.

Posted by catering winnipeg | July 8, 2013 12:45 PM

Leave a Comment