Posted in music | tour dates on January 22, 2013

Tall Firs
Tall Firs

Jeff Mangum recently extended his tour schedule to include cities that he hasn't hit so far during the reunion he's been having with the stage. Meanwhile his journey on the road playing Neutral Milk Hotel songs without the rest of his old band has him down south in places like New Orleans, Orlando and Charleston as part of a series of dates supported by NYC electric folk band Tall Firs (who have shared a bill with Jeff before). Check out all the dates, Barvadon Opera House in Poughkeepsie included, below.

In honor of that tour, which is underway now, we bring to you an exclusive listen of Tall Firs covering Kinks/Dave Davies classic "Death Of A Clown". Listen, and check out the dates, below...

----
Tall Firs - Death Of A Clown

Tall Firs -- 2013 Tour dates (all dats with w/ Jeff Mangum (Neutral Milk Hotel))
Sun 20th Jan - Majestic Theater, Dallas
Mon 21st Jan - Cullen Theater at the Wortham Center, Houston
Wed 23rd Jan - One Eyed Jacks, New Orleans
Thu 24th Jan - The Moon, Tallahassee
Fri 25th Jan - Florida Theater, Gainesville
Sat 26th Jan - The Beacham, Orlando
Mon 28th Jan - Sky City, Augusta
Tue 29th Jan - Charleston Music Hall, Charleston
Wed 30th Jan - Brooklyn Arts Center at St. Andrews, Wilmington
Thu 31st Jan - Neighborhood Theatre, Charlotte
Fri 1st Feb - Bijou Theatre, Knoxville
Sat 2nd Feb - The Grey Eagle, Asheville
Mon 4th Feb - Jefferson Theater, Charlottesville
Tue 5th Feb - Dupont Theatre, Wilmington
Wed 6th Feb - Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center, York
Fri 8th Feb - The Great Hall in Union Station, Hartford
Sat 9th Feb - State Theater, Portland
Sun 10th Feb - Lupo's Heartbreak Hotel, Providence
Wed 13th Feb - State Theatre, Ithaca
Thu 14th Feb - Hamilton College Chapel, Clinton
Fri 15th Feb - Barvadon Opera House, Poughkeepsie
Sat 16th Feb - MASS MoCA, North Adams

--
Jeff Mangum - 2013 Tour Dates
01-18 Lawrence, KS - Liberty Hall *
01-19 Oklahoma City, OK - ACM, UCO - Performance Lab Diamond Ballroom (moved to larger venue) *
01-20 Dallas, TX - Majestic Theater *
01-21 Houston, TX - Cullen Theater, the Wortham Center *
01-23 New Orleans, LA - One Eyed Jacks * (early and late shows)
01-24 Tallahassee, FL - The Moon *
01-25 Gainesville, FL - Florida Theater *
01-26 Orlando, FL - The Beacham *
01-28 Augusta, GA - Sky City Sacred Heart Cultural Center *
01-29 Charleston, SC - Charleston Music Hall *
01-30 Wilmington, NC - Brooklyn Arts Center, St. Andrews *
01-31 Charlotte, NC - Neighborhood Theatre *
02-01 Knoxville, TN - Bijou Theatre *
02-02 Asheville, NC - The Grey Eagle * (early and late shows)
02-04 Charlottesville, VA - Jefferson Theater *
02-05 Wilmington, DE - Dupont Theatre *
02-06 York, PA - Strand-Capitol Performing Arts Center *
02-08 Hartford, CT - The Great Hall in Union Station *!
02-09 Portland, ME - State Theater *!
02-10 Providence, RI - Lupo's Heartbreak Hotel *!
02-13 Ithaca, NY - State Theatre *!
02-14 Clinton, NY - Hamilton College Chapel *
02-15 Poughkeepsie, NY - Barvadon Opera House*!
02-16 North Adams, MA - MASS MoCA *!
03-24 Santa Cruz, CA - Rio Theatre
03-25 Santa Barbara, CA - Lobero Theatre
03-26 San Diego, CA - Spreckles Theatre
03-28 Phoenix, AZ - Crescent Ballroom
03-29 Tucson, AZ - Rialto Theatre
03-30 El Paso, TX - Tricky Falls
03-31 Marfa, TX - Goode Crowley Theatre
04-02 Santa Fe, NM - The Lensic
04-04 Salt Lake City, UT - The Depot
04-05 Boise, ID - Egyptian Theatre
04-07 Eugene, OR - McDonald Theatre
* with Tall Firs
! with the Music Tapes

--
(Dave Davies)THE KINKS - DEATH OF A CLOWN

---

      

Comments (3)

the only festival that matters now is Austin Psych Fest - all others are weak in comparision; regardless of music genres / festival focus

Posted by medafile | April 14, 2013 9:49 PM

There are some other good festivals.

Posted by catering winnipeg | June 30, 2013 4:10 PM

I think I have listened to this song few hundred times in a matter of few days, and I ll definitely hit few billion times.

Posted by Lebron | September 14, 2014 3:31 PM

Leave a Comment