Posted in metal | music on April 25, 2013

Killing Joke at Irving Plaza last week (more by Fred Pessaro)
Killing Joke

The legendary Killing Joke is, like many of the great bands of our time, unique and generally unclassifiable. Punk in both ethos and origin, the UK band has dippied its toe in industrial, metal, funk and dance music in their close-to-35-year career, carving out their own niche and more importantly their own sound. Jaz Coleman and co are currently touring the US, and played Irving Plaza last week.

On May 14, Killing Joke will survey the damage caused with the new double-disc, The Singles Collection 1979 - 2012, due on Spinefarm. The two-disc set will come with a third for a limited time, with that disc adding rarites and more unreleased studio tracks including "Four Stations Of The Sun." Check out the studio version of that track, a remix of which appeared on the 1998 LP Wardance - The Remixes,  for the first time, next to the "Timewave" demo, below.



KILLING JOKE - The Singles Collection 1979 - 2012
Disc 1 Track Listing:
1. Nervous System
2. War Dance
3. Requiem
4. Follow The Leaders
5. Empire Song
6. Chop-Chop
7. Birds Of A Feather
8. Let's All Go (The The Fire Dances)
9. Me Or You?
10. Eighties
11. A New Day
12. Love Like Blood
13. Kings And Queens
14. Adorations
15. Sanity
16. America
17. My Love Of This Island

Disc 2 Track Listing:
1. The Beautiful Dead
2. Money Is Not Our God
3. Exorcism
4. Millennium
5. Pandemonium
6. Jana
7. Democracy
8. Loose Cannon
9. Seeing Red
10. Hosannas From The Basements Of Hell
11. In Excelsis
12. Fresh Fever From The Skies
13. European Super State
14. Ghosts of Ladbroke Grove
15. In Cythera
16. Corporate Elect

Bonus Disc 3 Track Listing:
1. Drug (from the Mortal Kombat soundtrack)
2. Hollywood Babylon (from the Showgirls soundtrack)
3. Our Last Goodbye (from the Free The West Memphis 3 soundtrack)
4. Sixt Sun (unreleased track from the Absolute Dissent sessions)
5. Timewave (demo - unreleased track from the Absolute Dissent sessions)
6. Feast Of Fools (unreleased track from the Absolute Dissent sessions)
7. Zennon (B side of the Loose Cannon DVD single)
8. Four Stations Of The Sun (studio version)
9. Money Is Not Our God (radio edit)
10. Pandemonium (Aotearoa Mix - Full-length version)



Tags: Killing Joke

Comments (8)

Fred Armisen?

Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2013 10:34 AM

The Showgirls soundtrack was surprisingly good... Siouxsie, first draft of Bowie's "I'm Afraid of Americans," Sisters of Mercy, Curve side-project, etc.

Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2013 12:04 PM


Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2013 1:33 PM

coming in from the void

Posted by Anonymous | April 25, 2013 2:04 PM

Well, i believe god! but the second comment could of had been an athiest or jewish or anything els.. It could be just there religion! And its kinda like your judging them. Or they could just not believe in him for a ton of reasons. Maybe his family made him become a athiest or stuff like this its just a religion. the world is made by god but, People who are jews or athiest think god is a non exsisting person and we will all have to find out if he is real or not i know he is but in heaven we will

Posted by price | April 27, 2013 11:43 AM

This music was awesome! Good times! Good remembers!!!

Posted by Gretchen | May 15, 2013 4:11 AM

I like Birds Of A Feather

Posted by Nikusor | October 14, 2013 3:32 AM

Nice! One of my favorite, great tune, Geordie guitars rock!!

Posted by Chimbau | September 27, 2014 4:23 PM

Leave a Comment