Posted in music on August 27, 2013


Back in the spring, Moonface, the solo moniker of Spencer Krug (of Wolf Parade and Sunset Rubdown), played some solo piano shows ahead of his upcoming solo piano album, which he's now announced. The album is called Julia With Blue Jeans On, and it will be out on October 29 via Jagjaguwar. It follows 2012's Heartbreaking Bravery which he recorded with a full backing band (Finland's Siinai), and 2011's Organ Music Not Vibraphone Like I'd Hoped which was primarily Spencer, his organ, and drum loops. That's the artwork above.

The first single from the new album, "Everyone Is Noah, Everyone Is the Ark," can be streamed, along with the tracklist, below...


Moonface - "Everyone Is Noah, Everyone Is the Ark"

Moonface - Julia With Blue Jeans On tracklist:
1. Barbarian
2. Everyone Is Noah, Everyone Is the Ark
3. Barbarian II
4. November 2011
5. Dreamy Summer
6. Julia With Blue Jeans On
7. Love the House You're In
8. First Violin
9. Black Is Back in Style
10. Your Chariot Awaits




Comments (3)

can't wait for this. hope he comes back around, as well. littlefield show was fantastic.

Posted by Anonymous | August 27, 2013 1:49 PM

This is SPOT ON. It's nice for a musician to strip it back to the basics once in a while. It's been a while since the piano has sounded so alive and luscious!

Posted by Carlos | January 27, 2014 12:36 PM

Whenever I find art with personal currency I feel deeply unhappy. It is my experience that meaninglessness is preferable. Call it inurement.

Posted by David | January 31, 2014 3:52 AM

Leave a Comment