Posted in music on January 13, 2014

by Andrew Sacher

Father Murphy

Italian experimental band Father Murphy have four albums, a split with Xiu Xiu and a number of EPs under their belts, and they're now set to release another EP, Pain Is On Our Side Now, on February 11 via Aagoo Records. The EP features contributions from Ezra Buchla (formerly of The Mae Shi and Gowns with EMA), Greg Saunier (of Deerhoof, who Father Murphy's played with), and Gianni Giublena Rosacroce. It was also recorded in the same Medieval castle at Itri that Zola Jesus has recorded. It's being released as two single-sided 10"s, "each containing two movements and intended to be played simultaneously - or maybe not."

The EP's new single, "Bones Got Dry," is soaked in abrasive noise, and terrifyingly dark textures, and strays pretty far from anything resembling a conventional pop song. It makes its premiere in this post, and you can stream it, along with the tracklist, below...


Father Murphy - "Bones Got Dry"

Pain Is On Our Side Now Tracklist:
1. Let The Wrong Rise With You
Let Them All Fail With You (1 + 3 simultaneous listening edit)
2. Bones Got Dry
Grievieg for our Bones (2 +4 simultaneous listening edit)
3. They Will All Fail You
4. Despite All The Grief




Comments (3)

really dug that last father john murphy lp

Posted by devin diiver | January 13, 2014 1:31 PM

never watched father murphy so i thought id give it a go since i love lhop so much cant wait to see what this will be like esp with johnathan lol

Posted by Kaileo | November 1, 2014 10:56 AM

Class song

Posted by Liam Lees3 | November 21, 2014 2:58 AM

Leave a Comment