Posted in music | tour dates on February 24, 2014

by Bill Pearis

Protomartyr

Post punk sounds and industrial towns seem to go hand in hand. Detroit's Protomartyr have a sense of urgency and anger that could've sprouted from somewhere like Manchester or Cleveland in 1979. The band's second album, Under Color of Official Right, will be out April 8 via Hardly Art and while it doesn't specifically sound like Joy Division or The Mekons or The Fall (ok maybe the Fall a little bit) or Pere Ubu, there is definitely a similar approach, attitude and intelligence. Two of the album's most immediate songs -- the angry, sneering ripper "Scum, Rise!" and the moodier, more atmospheric "Come & See" -- can be streamed below.

Last in NYC in November, Protomartyr will be on tour next month, starting in Austin for SXSW (they're playing a lot of shows there) and will hit the Midwest and East Coast afterwards. The tour includes two shows in NYC: April 12 at Death by Audio and April 13 at Cake Shop. Both those shows are with tourmates Spray Paint, and during other sections of the tour they'll do stints with Whatever Brains and Cloud Nothings.

All tour dates are listed, along with the song streams, below...

---

PROTOMARTYR - 2014 TOUR DATES
Sat. Mar. 1 - Oberlin, OH @ Dionysius Dance Club (Oberlin College)
Wed. Mar. 12 - Austin, TX @ North Door (Sub Pop day party) [SXSW]
Wd. Mar. 12 - Austin, TX @ French Legation (Pitchfork Day Party) [SXSW]
Thu. Mar. 13 - Austin, TX @ Beerland (Can't Stop The Bleeding day party) [SXSW]
Fri. Mar. 14 - Austin, TX @ Waterloo Records (Waterloo Records day party) [SXSW]
Fri. Mar. 14 - Austin, TX @ The Liberty (Hardly Art/Suicide Squeeze showcase) [SXSW]
Sat. Mar. 15 - Austin, TX @ Beerland (WFMU day party) [SXSW]
Sat. Mar. 15 - Austin, TX @ The Hideout Theatre (Monofonus showcase) [SXSW]
Tue. Apr. 8 - Detroit, MI @ The Lager House (RECORD RELEASE SHOW) w/ Spray Paint
Wed. Apr. 9 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Howler's Coyote Cafe w/ Spray Paint
Fri. Apr. 11 - Cambridge, MA @ Democracy Center w/ Spray Paint
Sat. Apr. 12 - Brooklyn, NY @ Death By Audio w/ Spray Paint
Sun. Apr. 13 - New York, NY @ Cake Shop w/ Spray Paint
Tue. Apr. 15 - Philadelphia, PA @ Kung Fu Necktie w/ Spray Paint
Wed. Apr. 16 - Baltimore, MD @ The Gold Bar w/ Spray Paint
Thu. Apr. 17 - Raleigh, NC @ Slim's Downtown w/ Spray Paint, Whatever Brains
Fri. Apr. 18 - Atlanta, GA @ 529 w/ Spray Paint, Whatever Brains
Sat. Apr. 19 - Tallahassee, FL @ Liberty Bar w/ Whatever Brains
Mon. Apr. 21 - New Orleans, LA @ Circle Bar w/ Whatever Brains
Tue. Apr. 22 - Birmingham, AL @ Bottle Tree w/ Whatever Brains
Wed. Apr. 23 - Nashville, TN @ Stone Fox w/ Whatever Brains
Thu. Apr. 24 - Cincinnati, OH @ MOTR Pub w/ Whatever Brains
Fri. Apr. 25 - Cleveland, OH @ Now That's Class w/ Whatever Brains
Sat. Apr. 26 - Columbus, OH @ Cafe Bourbon Street
Tue. Apr. 29 - Kansas City, MO @ The Riot Room w/ Cloud Nothings
Wed. Apr. 30 - Iowa City, IA @ Gabe's w/ Cloud Nothings
Thu. May 1 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club w/ Cloud Nothings
Fri. May 2 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon w/ Cloud Nothings
Sat. May 3 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall w/ Cloud Nothings

---

      

Comments (7)

The duck is the 5th member

Posted by Anonymous | February 24, 2014 3:29 PM

According to the Hardly Art website the new Protomartyr album is called Under Color Of Official Right NOT Under Cover Of Official Right.

Posted by Andy | February 24, 2014 4:05 PM

andy,

thanks, l'il typo there. fixed!

-bill

Posted by bill p | February 24, 2014 4:16 PM

You're welcome man :)

Posted by Andy | February 24, 2014 4:31 PM

"my mission-provide 2014 new diagnostic tools for your car

Posted by automotive diagnostic | February 25, 2014 4:37 AM

the iPods

Posted by Anonymous | February 25, 2014 7:14 AM

circle jerks

Posted by Anonymous | February 25, 2014 8:12 AM

Leave a Comment