Posted in comedy | tour dates on April 1, 2014

by Bill Pearis

IMAGE

Ceaselessly combing through garage sales and thrift shops for weird VHS tapes from heyday of home video just so they can show the weirdest, funny bits to the public, The Found Footage Festival (aka Nick Prueher and Joe Pickett) are celebrating 10 years of service in 2014. And with that comes a 10th Anniversary tour, filled with new clips and classic favorites. The tour will be in the NYC area this month for three shows: April 25 at BAMcinématek (tickets), April 26 at Anthology Film Archives (where their first ever show was) for two performances (tickets), and April 27 at Alamo Drafthouse Yonkers (tickets). You can watch a trailer for the 2014 show below.

It's appropriate we're posting about this on April 1, as the Found Footage guys were responsible for one of the best, recent media pranks this side of The Yes Men. Prueher posed as a fictional TV chef named Chef Keith who was promoting his (nonexistent) cookbook Leftovers Right and managed to get himself booked onto five local morning news shows in the Midwest. When asked to describe his unorthodox cooking methods, he answers, "Are you familiar with GG Alin?" Watch the very funny highlight reel of his appearances, below.

Found Footage shows are always a lot of fun -- I've been to a bunch over the years -- and are highly recommended. All Found Footage Festival dates are listed, along with video clips, below...

---

Found Footage Fest 2014

Fake Chef Pranks Morning TV Shows

More Chef Keith

Disney World: One Kid's Opinion

Found Footage Festival - 2014 Tour Dates
Wed, Apr 2, 2014 Mud & Water - Baton Rouge, LA
Thu, Apr 3, 2014 One Eyed Jack's - New Orleans, LA
Fri, Apr 4, 2014 Bottletree Cafe - Birmingham, AL
Sat, Apr 5, 2014 Cine - Athens, GA
Sat, Apr 5, 2014 Cine - Athens, GA
Sun, Apr 6, 2014 The Earl - Atlanta, GA
Tue, Apr 8, 2014 Globe Cinema - Calgary, AB
Fri, Apr 11, 2014 Rowan University Rowan University
Sat, Apr 12, 2014 Clarion University Clarion University
Sun, Apr 13, 2014 Thiel College Thiel College
Mon, Apr 14, 2014 Truman State University Truman State University
Fri, Apr 25, 2014 BAMcinématek - Brooklyn, NY
Sat, Apr 26, 2014 Anthology Film Archives - NYC
Sat, Apr 26, 2014 Anthology Film Archives - NYC
Sun, Apr 27, 2014 Alamo Drafthouse Yonkers - Yonkers, NY
Thu, May 1, 2014 The Music Box - Chicago, IL
Wed, May 7, 2014 Meltdown The Meltdown
Thu, May 8, 2014 New Beverly - Los Angeles, CA
Fri, May 9, 2014 New Beverly - Los Angeles, CA
Sat, May 10, 2014 The Loft Cinema - Tucson, AZ
Thu, May 22, 2014 Bio Rio - Stockholm
Sat, Sep 20, 2014 University of New Hampshire University of New Hampshire

---

      

Comments (4)

This is so fucking dumb.

Posted by Anonymous | April 1, 2014 9:31 PM

This is what hipsters consider film preservation? Pathetic.

Posted by Anonymous | April 1, 2014 9:32 PM

10 years of it apparently.

Posted by Anonymous | April 1, 2014 11:02 PM

You can tell the weather man was laughing really hard!

Posted by Caceres | May 9, 2014 5:06 AM

Leave a Comment