Posted in music | tour dates on June 30, 2014

Strand of Oaks @ Mercury Lounge, 6/24/2014 (photo by @zangl19)
IMAGE

"After the show, I'm jumping into the crowd and hugging you all because this is one of the most spectacular nights in my life."

True to his word, Timothy Showalter did just that, after his sold out performance at Mercury Lounge Thursday night. Fans packed into the 250 capacity venue to hear him and his band mates perform songs from his fourth album, Heal, which was released this past Tuesday, as well as deeper cuts. This was one of those nights where everyone in attendance saw and heard something special; a talented musician on the rise baring his soul onstage through his guitar and lyrics. It was enough to make his wife shed a few tears, and undoubtedly some in the audience as well. [Zumic]

Timothy Showalter put out his new Strand of Oaks LP HEAL last week (6/24) and he and the new full band version of the band celebrated with a release show in NYC on 6/26 at Mercury Lounge. (If you went, what did you think?) Strand of Oaks have since expanded their tour to include another NYC show happening September 15 at Rough Trade. That show, and most others on the tour, will be opened by Christopher Denny. Tickets for the Rough Trade show go on sale Wednesday (7/2) at noon.

It's been a while since we heard from the unique country singer Chris Denny, who interviewed Lucero for us in 2009, played with Deer Tick in Prospect Park in 2009 and played a BV CMJ show the same year. Denny has an album coming out on August 5th via Partisan Records. It's called If The Roses Don't Kill Us and you can hear the title track below.

All dates are listed along with the new Chris Denny track, below...

---

Strand of Oaks - 2014 Tour Dates
Sat Jul 26, 2014 Camden, NJ Wiggins Park -
Tue Jul 29, 2014 Pontiac, MI The Pike Room at The Crofoot w/ Ryley Walker
Wed Jul 30, 2014 Chicago, IL House of Blues Interpol
Thu Jul 31, 2014 Cleveland, OH Beachland Tavern w/ Ryley Walker
Fri Aug 01, 2014 Columbus, OH The Basement w/ Ryley Walker
Thu Aug 07, 2014 Allston, MA Great Scott w/ Christopher Denny
Fri Aug 08, 2014 South Burlington, VT Higher Ground - Lounge w/ Christopher Denny
Sat Aug 09, 2014 Montreal, QC Il Motore w/ Christopher Denny
Mon Aug 11, 2014 Toronto, ON The Drake w/ Christopher Denny
Tue Aug 12, 2014 Pittsburgh, PA Club Cafe w/ Christopher Denny
Thu Aug 14, 2014 Cincinnati, OH MOTR Pub w/ Christopher Denny
Fri Aug 15, 2014 Bloomington, IN Russian Recording w/ Christopher Denny
Sat Aug 16, 2014 Goshen, IN Ignition Music Garage w/ Christopher Denny
Sun Aug 17, 2014 Chicago, IL Schubas w/ Christopher Denny
Mon Aug 18, 2014 Milwaukee, WI Pabst Theater w/ Christopher Denny
Tue Aug 19, 2014 Minneapolis, MN 7th St. Entry w/ Christopher Denny
Thu Aug 21, 2014 St. Louis, MO Off Broadway w/ Christopher Denny
Fri Aug 22, 2014 Kansas City, MO Riot Room w/ Christopher Denny
Sat Aug 23, 2014 Denver, CO Hi Dive w/ Christopher Denny
Sun Aug 24, 2014 Salt Lake City, UT Kilby Court w/ Christopher Denny
Tue Aug 26, 2014 Seattle, WA Tractor Tavern w/ Christopher Denny
Wed Aug 27, 2014 Vancouver, BC The Biltmore Cabaret w/ Christopher Denny
Thu Aug 28, 2014 Portland, OR Doug Fir Lounge w/ Christopher Denny
Sat Aug 30, 2014 San Francisco, CA The Independent w/ Christopher Denny
Sun Aug 31, 2014 Santa Cruz, CA The Crepe Place w/ Christopher Denny
Wed Sep 03, 2014 Los Angeles, CA The Echo w/ Christopher Denny
Thu Sep 04, 2014 San Diego, CA Casbah w/ Christopher Denny
Fri Sep 05, 2014 Phoenix, AZ Last Exit w/ Christopher Denny
Sun Sep 07, 2014 Dallas, TX Three Links w/ Christopher Denny
Tue Sep 09, 2014 Austin, TX Lambert's w/ Christopher Denny
Wed Sep 10, 2014 Birmingham, AL The Bottletree w/ Christopher Denny
Thu Sep 11, 2014 Atlanta, GA The Earl w/ Christopher Denny
Fri Sep 12, 2014 Nashville, TN The High Watt w/ Christopher Denny
Sat Sep 13, 2014 Durham, NC Pinhook w/ Christopher Denny
Sun Sep 14, 2014 Washington, DC DC9 w/ Christopher Denny
Mon Sep 15, 2014 Brooklyn, NYC Rough Trade NYC w/ Christopher Denny
Fri Sep 19, 2014 Philadelphia, PA Boot & Saddle w/ Christopher Denny

---

      

Comments (2)

like Wye Oak?

Posted by Anonymous | June 30, 2014 3:22 PM

Thanks for using my photo!

Posted by Zach | July 2, 2014 3:44 PM

Leave a Comment