Contact Us

Avenger is back (listen to a new track); Satan just left (watch video from their recent Brooklyn show)

By Ian Chainey


NWOBHM band Avenger will be releasing their first album in 29 years. Titled The Slaughter Never Stops, the LP will be their third, following 1985’s Killer Elite. It’s scheduled to hit shelves on September 1 through Rocksector Records.

As a preview, Avenger have offered up the song “Fate,” which fits surprisingly well into their old oeuvre, one characterized by an aggressive and athletic take on NWOBHM. Singer Ian “Swifty” Swift waits for his spots with confidence, ably finding the pocket while pepping things up with a wail when needed. Sole remaining original member Gary Young provides the pulse on the drums, busily bashing with the same energy as his Blood Sports/Killer Elite heyday. And the string section of Liam Thompsom, Sean Jefferies, and Ian “Fuzz” Fulton — members who joined following the 2005 reformation — are more than up to the task of matching the fellows who formerly filled their roles. Stream “Fate” in this post.

In fact, Avenger have something of an interesting history regarding roster moves. (Cue History Detectives theme.) Built from the ashes of Blitzkrieg, singer Brian Ross and bassist Mick Moore were joined by Gary Young and guitarist Steve Bird, resulting in a demo in 1982. Then, the revolving door started spinning. Ross left for Satan, but was succeeded in Avenger by Satan’s singer Ian Swift. (Plus, a draft pick and a player to be named later.) In addition, the guitarist position has been akin to drummer spot for Spinal Tap, turning their family tree into something the size of Yggdrasil. All told, Avenger have links to at least five different incarnations of Blitzkrieg, Atomkraft, Tysondog, Fist, and, perhaps their closest relative, the aforementioned Satan.

Speaking of the latter, you just missed them. Satan recently raced through†the States on their first tour of North America. You can check out videos from their set at Brooklyn’s Black Bear Bar (the space that used to be Public Assembly) — with Brian Ross in euphoric form — along with Avenger’s “Fate,” the Slaughter Never Stops tracklisting, and a stream of Too Wild to Tame: The Anthology, below.

Avenger – The Slaughter Never Stops Tracklisting
1. Mace Imperial
2. Race Against Time
3. Fate
4. Fields Of The Burnt
5. Into The Nexus
6. Decimated
7. In Arcadia Go!
8. Killers” (Iron Maiden cover)
9. Flayer Psychosis
10. Shot To Hell
11. Midnight Mass Destruction

Satan @ Black Bear Bar

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!