Contact Us

Big Thief announce 2nd album of 2019, ‘Two Hands’ (listen to “Not”)

big-thief

Big Thief sent out 7″ singles to folks who had pre-ordered this year’s U.F.O.F. that featured two new songs with the only information being “OCT1119″ inscribed in the vinyl’s runout groove. If that looks like a date to you, well it is, the release date of the band’s second album of 2019 which is titled Two Hands and out via 4AD on October 11. That’s the cover art, above. The band made the album at El Paso’s Sonic Ranch, and the band set up their instruments as close together as possible, recording live with almost no overdubs. “Two Hands has the songs that I’m the most proud of; I can imagine myself singing them when I’m old,” says Adrianne Lenker. “Musically and lyrically, you can’t break it down much further than this. It’s already bare-bones.” You really hear the raw, live sound — and emotion in Lenker’s vocals — on first single, “Not.” Stream that below.

You can catch Big Thief on tour this fall, and dates kick off with NYC shows at Brooklyn Steel on October 9 (tickets) with Twain and Webster Hall on October 10 with Palm (tickets) and October 11 with Palehound (sold out). They’ve also just added 2010 European dates and all are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

TWO HANDS TRACKLIST:
1.Rock And Sing
2. Forgotten Eyes
3. The Toy
4. Two Hands
5. Those Girls
6. Shoulders
7. Not
8. Wolf
9. Replaced
10. Cut My Hair

BIG THIEF – 2019/2010 TOUR DATES
Wed. Aug 14 – Saint-malo, FR @ Route du Rock
Fri. Aug 16 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
Sat. Aug. 17 – Wales, UK @ Green Man Festival
Mon. Aug. 19 – London, UK @ Bush Hall
Wed. Oct. 9 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Thu. Oct. 10 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Fri. Oct. 11 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Oct. 12 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Sun. Oct. 13 – Boston, MA @ Wilbur Theatre
Tue. Oct. 15 – Montreal, QC @ La Tulipe (SOLD OUT)
Wed. Oct. 16 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre (SOLD OUT)
Thu. Oct. 17 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Fri. Oct. 18 – Chicago, IL @ Metro (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Oct. 19 – Madison, WI @ The Sylvee
Mon. Oct. 21 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. Oct. 24 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Fri. Oct. 25 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre
Sat. Oct. 26 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Mon. Oct. 28 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore (SOLD OUT)
Tue. Oct. 29 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater
Wed. Oct. 30 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
Fri. Nov. 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 2 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister
Mon. Nov. 4 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheatre
Tue. Nov. 5 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
Thu. Nov. 7 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Fri. Nov. 8 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom (SOLD OUT)
Sat. Nov. 9 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sun. Nov. 10 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Mon. Nov. 11 – Columbus, OH @ The Athenaeum Theatre
Mon. Feb. 17 – Lisbon, PT @ LAV
Tue. Feb. 18 – Porto, PT @ Hard Club
Wed. Feb. 19 – Madrid, ES @ Joy Eslava
Thu. Feb. 20 – Barcelona, ES @ La 2 de Apolo
Sat. Feb. 22 – Bologna, IT @ Locomotiv
Sun. Feb. 23 – Milan, IT @ Magnolia
Mon. Feb. 24 – Lyon, FR @ Epicerie Moderne
Tue. Feb. 25 – Paris, FR @ Cabaret Sauvage
Thu. Feb. 27 – London, UK @ Hammersmith Apollo
Sat. Feb. 29 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City
Sun. Mar. 1 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Mon. Mar. 2 – Glasgow, UK @ Old Fruitmarket
Thu. Mar. 5 – Brussels, BE @ AB Ballroom
Fri. Mar. 6 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Sat. Mar. 7 – Cologne, DE @ Luxor
Sun. Mar. 8 – Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Mon. Mar. 9 – Berlin, DE @ Astra
Wed. Mar. 11 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega Main Hall
Thu. Mar. 12 – Gotheburg, SE @ Pustervik
Fri. Mar. 13 – Stockholm, SE @ Debaser
Sat. Mar. 14 – Olso, NO @ Rockefeller
Sun. Mar. 15 – Aarhus, DK @ Voxhall

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!