Contact Us

Blood Orange announces new album ‘Negro Swan’

Blood Orange
photo by Nick Harwood

After teasing it for a while, Blood Orange (aka Dev Hynes) has now officially announced the followup to 2016’s great Freetown Sound. It’s called Negro Swan and it comes out on August 24 via Domino. Here’s what he says about it:

My newest album is an exploration into my own and many types of black depression, an honest look at the corners of black existence, and the ongoing anxieties of queer/people of color. A reach back into childhood and modern traumas, and the things we do to get through it all. The underlying thread through each piece on the album is the idea of HOPE, and the lights we can try to turn on within ourselves with a hopefully positive outcome of helping others out of their darkness.

No word yet on guest appearances or anything, and Dev is keeping the tracklist a secret for now too, but you can check out the artwork and the latest teaser video below. Pre-order it here.

As mentioned, Blood Orange is touring, including a NYC show on 9/26 at Central Park SummerStage (tickets). All dates are listed below.

Blood Orange Album 4. Stay tuned..

A post shared by Blood Orange (@devhynes) on

Blood Orange Negro Swan

Blood Orange — 2018 Tour Dates
Sat July 21 – Chicago, IL – Union Park, Pitchfork Music Festival
Sun Aug 5 – Montreal, QC – Parc Jean-Drapeau, Osheaga Festival
Fri Sept 14 – Vancouver, BC – The Orpheum, Westward Music Festival
Sat Sept 15 – Seattle, WA – Moore Theatre
Sun Sept 16 – Portland, OR – Roseland
Thurs Sept 20 – Oakland, CA – Fox Theatre
Fri Sept 21 Los Angeles, CA – Greek Theatre
Sat Sept 22 – Las Vegas, NV – Downtown Las Vegas, Life is Beautiful Festival
Wed Sept 26 – New York, NY – Central Park Summerstage
Thurs Sept 27 – Philadelphia, PA – The Fillmore
Fri Sept 28 – Washington, DC – Lincoln Theatre
Mon Oct 1 – Toronto, ON – Danforth Music Hall
Tue Oct 2 – Toronto, ON – Danforth Music Hall
Sat Oct 6 – Austin, TX – Zilker Park, Austin City Limits
Sat Oct 13 – Austin, TX – Zilker Park, Austin City Limits
Mon Oct 29 – London, UK – O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Tue Oct 30 – Amsterdam, NL – Melkweg Max
Fri Nov 2 – Paris, FR – Grande Halle de la Villette – Pitchfork Music Festival Paris
Sat Nov 3 – Sun Nov 4 – Turin, IT – Lingotto Fiere, Club To Club Festival
Tues Nov 6th – Berlin, DE – Columbia Theater
Thurs Nov 8th – Copenhagen, DK – The Grey Hall
Wed Nov 7 – Sat Nov 10 – Reykjavík, Iceland – Iceland Airwaves Festival

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!