Contact Us

Braids are touring – video, MP3, 2 NYC dates (1 w/ the Luyas)

by Bill Pearis

DOWNLOAD: Braids – Lemonade (MP3)

Braids

Montreal’s Braids will be in NYC next week, playing Knitting Factory on Tuesday May 25 with Depreciation Guild (whose very good second album Spirit Youth is out this week) and Wild Nothing (their debut, Gemini, which is also quite good, is out that day), and then an early show at Mercury Lounge on May 27 (no advance tickets) with fellow Montreal residents The Luyas who just can’t seem to stay away from our city now that they’ve broken their NYC cherry (they were here the other day to play a 20 minute set at the National’s High Violet Annex). Is there a cheap bus that we should know about?. There’s also going to be a “secret loft show” (maybe like The Luyas one last month) on May 26 that we’ll have info on next week.

Both Depreciation Guild and The Luyas are good pairings for Braids (not to be confused with ’90s emo band Braid) whose sound is both ethereal and expansive, that reminds me a bit of being in a half-awake, dreamlike state. It’s lovely stuff.

The band’s debut, Native Speakers, is finished and awaiting a release date but in the meantime you can download “Lemonade” from it at the top of this post. There’s also a lovely Vincent Moon directed Take Away show of Braids doing “Lemonade” further down this post.

Braids are currently playing a few dates with Holly Miranda (another apt pairing) before the shows next week here in New York.

Videos and dates below…

Views of Montreal _ BRAIDS from vincent moon / temporary areas on Vimeo.

Braids – 2010 Tour Dates
Friday, May 20, 2010 :: Toronto, ON @ El Mocambo w/ Holly Miranda
Saturday, May 21, 2010 :: Montreal, QC @ Le Savoy w/ Holly Miranda
Saturday, May 22, 2010 :: Boston, MA @ TT The Bear’s Place w/ Holly Miranda, Grooms
Tuesday, May 25th, 2010 :: Brooklyn, NY w/ Depreciation Guild
Thursday, May 27th, 2010 :: New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge w/ The Luyas
Saturday, May 29, 2010 :: Toronto, ON @ The Piston (PItter Patter)
Sunday, May 30, 2010 :: London, ON @ Forest City Gallery
Monday, May 31, 2010 :: Guelph, ON @ Ed Video w/ Dioscuri
Tuesday, June 1, 2010 :: Sudbury, ON @ Millard’s Garage
Thursday, June 3, 2010 :: Winnipeg, MB @ Freud’s Bathhouse w/ Cannon Bros
Friday, June 4, 2010 :: Regina, SK @ O’Hanlons Pub
Saturday, June 5, 2010 :: Edmonton, AB @ Castle Awesome w/ Gobble Gobble, JAZZ
Sunday, June 6, 2010 :: Calgary, AB @ Marquee Room w/ Gobble Gobble
Tuesday, June 8, 2010 :: Medicine Hat, AB @ TBA w/ Gobble Gobble
Wednesday, June 9, 2010 :: Lethbridge, AB @ TBA w/ Gobble Gobble
Thursday, June 10, 2010 :: Canmore, AB @ Canmore Hotel w/Gobble Gobble
Friday, June 11, 2010 :: Vancouver, BC @ Warehouse w/ Gobble Gobble, Makeout Videotape
Saturday, June 12, 2010 :: Victoria, BC @ The Fifty Fifty w/ Gobble Gobble, Balacade
Sunday, June 13, 2010 :: Victoria, BC @ Fan Club Music House Driveway w/Gobble Gobble
Monday, June 14, 2010 :: Kelowna, BC @ Blue Gator w/Gobble Gobble
Tuesday, June 15, 2010 :: Nelson, BC @ TBA w/Gobble Gobble
Friday, June 18, 2010 :: High Prairie, AB @ North Country Fair w/Gobble Gobble
Wednesday, June 30, 2010 – Friday, July 2, 2010 :: Calgary, AB @ Sled Island

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!