Contact Us

Bruce Springsteen announces new album, ‘Western Stars’

Bruce Springsteen

Bruce Springsteen had been teasing what seemed like a new album, and now that album is officially announced. As rumored, it’s called Western Stars, and it’s due out June 14 via Columbia. It’s his first in five years.

There was also speculation that the album would be orchestral after author and Springsteen blogger Stan Goldstein pointed out that Rolling Stone writer Brian Hiatt’s new book Bruce Springsteen: The Stories Behind the Songs said “The Wrecking Ball songs arrived in the wake of another, less visceral, more orchestral set of tracks (“Grand Canyon music,” as Springsteen described the still-unreleased project to one musician).” Hiatt added that the quote referred to a “long-in-the-works solo album,” and in a statement, Springsteen said, “This record is a return to my solo recordings featuring character-driven songs and sweeping, cinematic orchestral arrangements.” “It’s a jewel box of a record,” he added. Springsteen co-produced the album with with Ron Aniello, and it features Jon Brion on celeste, Moog and farfisa, vocals by Patti Scialfa, early E Street Band keyboardist David Sancious (who played on the first three albums), later-period E Street Band members Charlie Giordano and Soozie Tyrell, and strings, horns, and pedal steel by over 20 musicians.

First single “Hello Sunshine” will be released tonight at midnight. Check out the full tracklist below.

1. Hitch Hikin’
2. The Wayfarer
3. Tucson Train
4. Western Stars
5. Sleepy Joe’s Café​
6. Drive Fast (The Stuntman)
7. Chasin’ Wild Horses
8. Sundown
9. Somewhere North of Nashville
10. Stones
11. There Goes My Miracle
12. Hello Sunshine
13. Moonlight Motel

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!