Contact Us

Buke & Gass touring w/ Efterklang — dates, album info, MP3

DOWNLOAD: Buke & Gass – Medulla Oblongata (MP3)

Buke & Gass @ High Violet Annex (more by David Andrako)
Buke & Gass

Efterklang, the Danish collective that came through NYC most recently in March, will be touring with NYC art-pop duo Buke & Gass this September and October. The trip ends with a pair of New York shows: Friday, October 1st at Santos Party House (tickets are on sale) and a Saturday, Oct. 2nd show at Glasslands (tickets TBA). Eferklang’s Peter Broderick is back in good health and will be rejoining the band on the tour, where they’ll play as a seven piece.

Buke & Gass are Arone Dyer and Aron Sanchez, who drew the band name from their respective instruments, a six-string baritone ukulele and a guitar-bass hybrid (pronounced byook, as in baritone-plus-ukelele, and gace, as in guitar-plus-bass). They’re gearing up to release their debut full-length, Riposte, out September 14th on Brassland (the label co-run by the National’s Dessner bros).

The pair aren’t total newcomers though: Besides their Buke & Gass work over the past three years, both played in punk band Hominid, who broke up in 2004. And Sanchez played in Proton Proton (whose credits include opening for Deerhoof). The first song from Riposte, the jittery, short-breathed post-pop “Medulla Oblongata,” is posted above.

Below is a first look at the album cover, which features a pair of ominously grimy, tenderly grasped shears, rendered in black and white.

In addition to their two namesake instruments, the pair utlize a kick drum and a galaxy of pedals and effects to layer and tweak their live sound. Check out the concert setup in a pair of recent videos. Those, all tour dates and album info are below…

Buke & Gass
‘Rispote’ tracklist
Medulla Oblongata
Medicina
Your Face Left Before You
Naked Cities
Sleep Gets Your Ghost
Revel In Contempt
Red Hood Came Home
Horse Head Nebula
Immoral But Just Fine, Okay
Neurosis + Her Sisters
Bundletuck
Page Break
Outt!
“Heart”


Buke and Gass – Medulla Oblongata – Death by Audio

Buke and Gass – Two Frogs – Death by Audio

Efterklang + Buke & Gass – 2010 Tour Dates
Tuesday, Sept. 7 – Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa
Wednesday, Sept. 8 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace
Thursday, Sept. 9 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Friday, Sept. 10 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Saturday, Sept. 11 – Minneapolis, MN @ Walker Arts
Monday, Sept. 13 – Denver, CO @ Hi-Dive
Tuesday, Sept. 14 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Friday, Sept. 17 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey
Saturday, Sept. 18 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
Monday, Sept. 20 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
Tuesday, Sept. 21 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Wednesday, Sept. 22 – Mexico?!
Thursday, Sept. 23 – Mexico?!
Friday, Sept. 24 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Saturday, Sept. 25 – Frisco, TX @ Lochrann’s Irish Pub (Oysterfest!)
Sunday, Sept. 26 – Memphis, TN @ Hi Tone
Monday, Sept. 27 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Wednesday, Sept. 29 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Thursday, Sept. 30 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Friday, Oct. 1 – New York, NY @ Santos Party House
Saturday, Oct. 2 – Brooklyn, NY @ Glasslands

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!