Contact Us

Central Park Summerstage 2012 schedule (Alabama Shakes, Dawes, Kurt Vile, Gary Clark Jr, Amadou & Mariam & more)

Amadou & Mariam
Amadou Mariam

As you may remember from the past couple of years, “Summerstage” now encompasses more than just Central Park, but Central Park Summerstage will still always be the first thing that comes to mind when you think of the series. Here’s the 2012 schedule. Check it out below…


FREE SHOWS:

Thurs, June 7 @ 7:00 PM – Bobby Womack, Willis Earl Beal

Sat, June 9 @ @ 7:00 PM – 10th Cine Fest Petrobras Brasil NY *Live Performance by Sandra de Sá *Full Film Screening of the new Raul Seixas documentary: RAUL

Tues, June 12 @ 8:00 PM – The New York Pops with Ozomatli

Fri, June 15 @ 8:00 PM – Joey Arias

Sat, June 16 @ 7:00 PM – Dawes, Kurt Vile and The Violators

Sun, June 17 @ 6:00 PM – The Blue Note Jazz Festival featuring Groove Theory, Soulive, Riq and Rah with Strings (Black Thought + Rahzel), DJ ?uestlove

Wed, June 20 @ 8:00 PM – Comedy Central: Indecision in the Park with The Daily Show stars and writers: Rory Albanese, Wyatt Cenac, Adam Lowitt, Al Madrigal, John Oliver, Kristen Schaal, Hosted by John Hodgman

Sun, June 24 @ 3:00 PM – Alabama Shakes, Diamond Rugs, Robert Ellis

Tues, June 26 @ 7:00 PM – Workmen’s Circle Yiddishfest 2012 – Singing for a Better World featuring The Klezmatics, SoCalled, Daniel Kahn and The Painted Bird, Joshua Nelson, NYT-Folksbiene’s “Soul to Soul”, Yiddish Princess

Sat, June 30 @ 8:00 PM – Limón Dance Company with musical guest Paquito D’Rivera

Sun, July 1 @ 8:00 PM – Limón Dance Company with musical guest Paquito D’Rivera

Sat, July 7 @ 3:00 PM – CBGB Festival – Artists TBA

Sun, July 8 @ 3:00 PM – SummerStage Kids Family Day with Justin Roberts and The Not So Ready for Naptime Players, Ill Style & Peace Productions. The New York Chinese Cultural Center, The Bindlestiff Family Cirkus

Wed, July 11 @ 7:00 PM – Latin Alternative Music Conference w/ Mala Rodríguez, Profetas, Ximena Sariñana

Sat, July 14 @ 3:00 PM – Latin Alternative Music Conference w/ Kinky, Los Auténticos Decadentes, 3Ball MTY, DJ Raff

Sun, July 15 @ 7:00 PM – A Guthrie Family Reunion: Celebrating Woody Guthrie’s 100 Birthday with Arlo Guthrie, Abe Guthrie, Cathy Guthrie, Annie Guthrie, Sara Lee Guthrie and Johnny Irion

Tues, July 17 @ 7:30 PM – The Upright Citizens Brigade presents w/ The All-Stars of Improv

Sat, July 21 @ 3:00 PM – Bebel Gilberto, Criolo, Flávio Renegado, DJ Béco Dranoff

Sun, July 22 @ 3:00 PM – Orchestre Poly-Rythmo, SMOD, Bibi Tanga and the Selenites, DJ Chief Boima

Wed, July 25 @ 8:00 PM – The Metropolitan Opera Summer Recital Series

Sat, July 28 @ 3:00 PM – Gary Clark Jr., GIVERS

Sun, July 29 @ 3:00 PM – Héctor “El Torito” Acosta, DJ Lobo, Alex Sensation

Tues, July 31 @ 8:00 PM – “The Power of the Trinity” – a play by Roland Wolf, Directed by Alfred Preisser, Music by Tomás Doncker

Wed, Aug. 1 @ 8:00 PM – Camille A. Brown & Dancers with Imani Uzuri , Malcolm Low Formal Structure, Dancin’ Downtown at The Joyce Contest Winner

Sat, Aug. 4 @ 3:00 PM, Amadou & Mariam, Theophilus London

Sun, Aug. 5 @ 4:00 PM – 5th Annual Gospel Explosion featuring Hezekiah Walker and Friends, Vashawn Mitchell, Le’Andria Johnson, James Fortune & F.I.Y.A.

Sat, Aug. 11 @ 3:00 PM – Carolina Chocolate Drops, Buckwheat Zydeco, Abigail Washburn

Sun, Aug. 12 @ 4:00 PM – The Fourth Annual R&B Fest featuring Eric Benét and more TBA

Tues, Aug. 14 @ 7:00PM – Goapele, Yolanda Zama, Film Screening: “Come Back Africa”

Sat, Aug. 18 @ 3:00 PM – Australia Day featuring Megan Washington, Emma Donavan, DJ Ashley Feraude with Jonty Hall

Sun, Aug. 19 @ 3:00 PM – Jamaica’s 50th Anniversary of Independence Celebration featuring Inner Circle, Israel Vibration, The Mighty Diamonds, DJ Carter Van Pelt


NOT FREE SHOWS:
Mon, June 11 @ 6:00 PM- Foster the People with Tokyo Police Club and Kimbra (SOLD OUT)
Mon, June 25 @ 7:00 PM – Childish Gambino with Danny Brown and Schoolboy Q )SOLD OUT)
Tues, July 3 @ 7:00 PM – Norah Jones
Mon, July 16 @ 6:30 PM – Young the Giant
Mon, July 23 @ 6:00 PM – Beach House (SOLD OUT)
Mon, Aug. 6 @ TBA – Old Crow Medicine Show
Wed, Aug. 8 @ 6:30 PM – M83 (SOLD OUT)

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!