Contact Us

Cinematic Orchestra on Ninja Tune XX box set, but not in NYC tonight (or on the XX party lineups — Santos show on sale)

Ninja Tune

The Ninja Tune XX box set contains the following stuff which is 100% exclusive to the set and unavailable anywhere else in the world:

– 2 x CDs + 6 x 7″s featuring new tracks from Mr Scruff, Toddla T, Kid Koala, Wagon Christ, Jaga Jazzist, King Geedorah, DJ Food, Kyle Hall, The Heavy, The Qemists, King Cannibal, Blockhead and unreleased archive tracks from The Cinematic Orchestra and Roots Manuva AND new remixes from Modeselektor, Cut Chemist, Zomby, Scuba, Dorian Concept, EL-P, The Bug, King Jammy, Matthew Herbert, Rustie, Prefuse 73, cLOUDDEAD, 808 State, The Orb, Tom Middleton, Gold Panda, JME, Alix Perez, Joe Goddard (Hot Chip), Doomed (Richard Russell) and Roots Manuva. See tracklists [HERE>].

The Cinematic Orchestra were scheduled to play the Guggenheim Museum in NYC tonight, Friday, September 3rd, BUT: “Due to unforeseen medical reasons, The Cinematic Orchestra show has been canceled. The band express their deepest regret over the situation and hope to perform in New York in the new year.” Hopefully those medical reasons aren’t too serious and we do in fact see them in 2011.

Meanwhile, Ninja Tune is celebrating 20 years, and in addition to the box set, that means parties. Tickets are on sale now for an October 28th show at Santos Party House with sets by Amon Tobin, Kid Koala, DJ Food & DK, Poirier Toddla T & Serocee, DJ Kentaro, and Eskmo.

Two days later, almost the same lineup plays Echo/Echoplex in LA, though they also get Cut Chemist

Eskmo is one of Ninja Tune’s newest signings. Check out a video along with 10 streaming tracks from the box set, info on a new book, and more, below…

Eskmo – Cloudlight (Official Video) from mc707 on Vimeo.

ESKMO – “ESKMO” Album out 19th October (Ninja Tune)
1) Cloudlight
2) We Got More
3) Color Dropping
4) The Melody
5) You Go, I See That
6) We Have Invisible Friends (Washed Mix)
7) Become Matter Soon, For You
8) Moving Glowstream
9) Starships
10) Communication
11) Siblings
12) Gold & Stone
13) My Gears Are Starting To Tremble

The Book

The paperback edition of “Ninja Tune: 20 Years of Beats and Pieces” will be available soon through Black Dog Publishing, as part of their acclaimed Labels Unlimited series. The book is written by esteemed music journalist Stevie Chick (a founder of Loose Lips Sinks Ships as well as long term NME scribe and current contributor to the Guardian, Mojo etc and author of books on Black Flag and Sonic Youth, amongst others) and includes exclusive interviews with key artists and label staff. Its 192 pages are also lavishly illustrated with original photographs, illustrations and flyers plundered from the depths of Ninja Tune and their artists’ archives.

Ninja Tune XX Box Set Previews (CDs 1-4 only) by Ninja Tune XX

There will be two U.S. Ninja Tune XX celebrations in NY and LA.

28th October New York, NY @ Santos feat.
Amon Tobin, Kid Koala, DJ Food, Poirier, Toddla T, DJ Kentaro, Eskmo, Ghostbeard

30th October Los Angeles, CA @ Echo/Echoplex feat.
Amon Tobin, Kid Koala, DJ Food, Cut Chemist, Toddla T, Eskmo, DJ Kentaro, Ghostbeard

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!