Contact Us

Cold Cave speaks about Boyd Rice controversy, opening for Gary Numan on the West Coast ++ other dates

Cold Cave @ 285 Kent, 6/29/2013 (more by Lukas Hodge)
Cold Cave

Pitchfork: How has the controversy surrounding your shows with Boyd Rice affected you?

WE: I guess you just can’t say or do anything without opposition. People say art doesn’t need to be explained, but then they demand an explanation. I know Boyd Rice as a kind, intelligent, influential individual, not as any of these things that people are saying about him personally. It’s not my problem that people are ignorant or can’t contextualize his work.

Pitchfork: Were you prepared at all for this sort of backlash?

WE: There’s always a backlash no matter what you do. Of course I’m aware [of his previous statements]. People have always had this misunderstanding with his work, as they do many artists; sometimes people choose to separate someone’s art from their personality and sometimes they can’t. Boyd played New York four times that year and there hadn’t been any issues. If anything, the mistake was assuming people could contextualize it. – [P4K]

Elsewhere in Pitchfork’s interview with Cold Cave main man Wes Eisold says he’s in a very creative period of his life currently, and he doesn’t want “to let time pass me by even more than I’ve already allowed it to.” Eisold is currently putting the finishing touches on the third Cold Cave record, tentatively titled Sunflower.

As mentioned, Cold Cave play (without Boyd Rice) Glasslands on September 4. Tickets for that show are still available. That follows a string of West Coast dates with synthpop legend Gary Numan (who also plays NYC). Cold Cave also have shows in the South and Southwest after the Glasslands show. All dates are listed below.

Cold Cave – 2013 Tour Dates
Sat 08/24/13 Respectable Street Block Party West Palm Beach FL
Wed 08/28/13 Ace of Spades Sacramento CA Gary Numan
Thu 08/29/13 WOW Hall Eugene OR Gary Numan
Fri 08/30/13 Fortune Sound Club Vancouver BC Gary Numan
Sat 08/31/13 Neumos Seattle WA Vice Device
Sun 09/01/13 Wonder Ballroom Portland OR Gary Numan
Tue 09/03/13 Oakland Metro Operahouse Oakland CA Gary Numan
Wed 09/04/13 Glasslands Brooklyn NY
Thu 09/05/13 Ottobar Baltimore MD
Fri 09/06/13 The Hippodrome St Richmond VA Fall Line Fest
Sat 09/07/13 Local 506 Chapel Hill NC
Sun 09/08/13 The Earl Atlanta GA
Tue 09/10/13 Jack Rabbits Jacksonville FL
Wed 09/11/13 The Social Orlando FL
Thu 09/12/13 Club Downunder Tallahassee FL
Fri 09/13/13 Hi Ho Lounge New Orleans LA
Sat 09/14/13 Walters Houston TX
Sun 09/15/13 Red 7 Austin TX
Tue 09/17/13 Lowbrow Palace El Paso TX
Wed 09/18/13 Club Congress Tucson AZ

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!