Contact Us

Deerhoof announce new LP ‘The Magic’ (listen to glammy single “Plastic Thrills”)


That new Deerhoof song “Debut” turns out to be from the band’s new album, The Magic, which will be out June 15 via Polyvinyl. Says drummer Greg Saunier, the songs on this album were meant to evoke “what we liked when we were kids – when music was magic – before you knew about the industry and before there were rules. Sometimes hair metal is the right choice.” Three of the songs on The Magic were actually written and recorded for HBO’s series Vinyl but never used. You can check out the very glammy “Plastic Thrills,” the album’s official first single, which definitely sounds like it could’ve been on Vinyl. (So does the NY Dolls-cribbing band photo above.) Listen to that, as well as “Debut,” below.

Pre-orders of The Magic come with a “special cassette mixtape of us covering some of our favorite songs.” Check out tracklist and album artwork below.

Deerhoof also have that collaborative album Baltner/Saunier with Ensemble Dal Niente out soon too.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Deerhoof The Magic

Deerhoof – The Magic tracklist

01 “The Devil And His Anarchic Surrealist Retinue”
02 “Kafe Mania!”
03 “That Ain’t No Life To Me”
04 “Life Is Suffering”
05 “Criminals Of The Dream”
06 “Model Behavior”
07 “Learning To Apologize Effectively”
08 “Dispossessor”
09 “I Don’t Want To Set The World On Fire”
10 “Acceptance Speech”
11 “Patrasche Come Back”
12 “Debut”
13 “Plastic Thrills”
14 “Little Hollywood”
15 “Nurse Me”

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!