Contact Us

Dilly Dally played a roof, covered Drake, playing more CMJ shows including a BV show & other dates

by Andrew Sacher

Dilly Dally on Output’s Roof – 10/13/15 (photo via @przemekgulda)
Dilly Dally

I kicked off my CMJ this year at the co-sign Rooftop Bash on the roof of Output last night (10/13), where one of the acts who won me over last year, Dilly Dally, were playing. Watching a band on a roof in nice 70-something degree weather, surrounded by drunk people at 8 PM on a Tuesday, and with the smell of fried food coming from somewhere, it felt more like a weeknight in Austin at SXSW than CMJ. (Because let’s be honest, if you live in New York a weeknight at CMJ feels like “that one time of the year I go to Arlene’s Grocery.”) And Dilly Dally were great. They played most of their all-hits debut album Sore which came out last week on Partisan/Buzz, and did a gnarly grunge cover of fellow Toronto artist Drake’s “Know Yourself” (during which Katie pointed at her bandmates when she yelled “RUNNIN! THRU THE! SIX! WITH MY! WOES!”).

There’s are other chances to catch Dilly Dally while they’re in NYC, including tonight (10/14) at Santos Party House for the NME, PopGun, House Arrest CMJ Party with Protomartyr, Downtown Boys, Shopping, Yung, Nico Yaryan, Car Seat Headrest, Seratones, Hooton Tennis Club and YAK. They play at 1 AM and tickets are still available. They also play the FADER Fort on Saturday (10/17) at Converse Rubber Tracks with YG, Baauer, Porches and more. They’re on at 9:30 PM at that one, but before that they also play the BrooklynVegan Saturday party at Baby’s All Right at 4 PM (stay tuned for the full lineup – UPDATE: HERE IT IS).

Their tour also returns to NYC on November 14 at Baby’s All Right (tickets) an dNovember 16 at Mercury Lounge (tickets).

Listen to “Purple Rage” in Hype Machine’s October HypeOn playlist. Updated tour dates are listed below.

Dilly Dally — 2015/2016 Tour Dates
Wed 14 Oct 2015 Santos Party House New York, NY, US (NME CMJ showcase)
Sat 17 Oct 2015 Converse Rubber Tracks Brooklyn, NY (FADER Fort)
Wed 21 Oct 2015 Promontory Chicago, IL, US
Fri 23 Oct 2015 The Goodwill Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Sat 24 Oct 2015 Amigos Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Sun 25 Oct 2015 Broken City Calgary, AB, Canada
Tue 27 Oct 2015 The Media Club Vancouver, BC, Canada
Wed 28 Oct 2015 Sunset Tavern Seattle, WA, US
Thu 29 Oct 2015 Bunk Bar Portland, OR, US
Mon 02 Nov 2015 Bottom of the Hill San Francisco, CA, US
Tue 03 Nov 2015 Bootleg Theater Los Angeles, CA, US
Wed 04 Nov 2015 The Hideout San Diego, CA, US
Fri 06 Nov 2015 Lost Lake Lounge Denver, CO, US
Sat 07 Nov 2015 Reverb Lounge Omaha, NE, US
Sun 08 Nov 2015 Rose Music Hall Columbia, MO, US
Mon 09 Nov 2015 The Demo St Louis, MO, US
Wed 11 Nov 2015 Brillobox Pittsburgh, PA, US
Thu 12 Nov 2015 DC9 Nightclub Washington, DC, US
Fri 13 Nov 2015 Kung Fu Necktie Philadelphia, PA, US
Sat 14 Nov 2015 Baby’s All Right Brooklyn, NY, US
Mon 16 Nov 2015 Mercury Lounge New York, NY, US
Tue 17 Nov 2015 Great Scott Allston, MA, US
Wed 18 Nov 2015 Piccolo Rialto Montreal, QC, Canada
Fri 27 Nov 2015 Horseshoe Tavern Toronto, ON, Canada
Thu 07 Jan 2016 The Victoria, Dalston London, UK
Tue 19 Jan 2016 La Mécanique Ondulatoire Paris, France
Sat 23 Jan 2016 Castle Hotel Manchester, UK
Sun 24 Jan 2016 Broadcast Glasgow, UK
Tue 26 Jan 2016 The Louisiana Bristol, UK
Wed 27 Jan 2016 The Green Door Store Brighton, UK
Fri 29 Jan 2016 West End Centre Aldershot, UK

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!