Contact Us

Dom played Governors Island, touring w/ Ratatat (pics, dates)

photos by Chris La Putt

“This time it is so sexy to be living in America, Dom. Governors Island greater than Coney Island forsuresure.” – Blanca Méndez

Dom

“Bad news, this is our last show ever”, Dom told the Governors Island crowd on Saturday night (8/15). He was lying of course. Most obviously because the band will be leaving on a tour with Ratatat in September. That’s the same tour that comes to Terminal 5 for two nights (October 8th and 9th). Dom is opening at least the first one. Tickets are still on sale for both.

Dom’s other funny show moments included a “triple awesome” moment (three things were “awesome” in a row), his shoutouts to many sponsors including Converse (who were affiliated with the event) and Mountain Dew (who weren’t, but maybe Dom had a reason to be thanking them too?), and his pausing to check “the little list of songs they had there” (or something like that) (aka the setlist).

The music was entertaining too. Dom doesn’t have the best live reputation. The young band was pushed into the spotlight early and has been heavily scrutinized as they figure things out in front of large audiences, but most seemed to agree that they loved them Saturday night (their best songs are especially undeniable, as is the frontman’s charisma). More pictures from the show (which Neon Indian headlined), below…

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom

Dom – 2010 Tour Dates
Tue 09.07.10 Montreal, QC Metropolis *
Wed 09.08.10 Toronto, ON Sound Academy *
Thu 09.09.10 Royal Oak, MI Royal Oak Theatre *
Fri 09.10.10 Chicago, IL Riviera Theatre *
Sat 09.11.10 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue *
Tue 09.14.10 Seattle, WA Showbox SoDo *
Wed 09.15.10 Vancouver, BC Commodore Ballroom *
Thu 09.16.10 Portland, OR Crystal Ballroom *
Fri 09.17.10 San Francisco, CA Warfield Theatre *
Sat 09.18.10 Ventura, CA Majestic Ventura Theatre *
Sun 09.19.10 San Diego, CA House of Blues *
Tue 09.21.10 Los Angeles, CA Club Nokia *
Wed 09.22.10 Las Vegas, NV House of Blues *
Fri 09.24.10 Scottsdale, AZ Venue of Scottsdale *
Fri 09.24.10 Pomona, CA Fox Theatre *
Mon 09.27.10 Austin, TX Stubb’s *
Tue 09.28.10 Dallas, TX Palladium Ballroom *
Fri 10.01.10 Atlanta, GA The Masquerade *
Sat 10.02.10 Charlotte, NC Amos’ Southend *
Sun 10.03.10 Charlottesville, VA Jefferson Theatre *
Tue 10.05.10 Boston, MA House of Blues *
Wed 10.06.10 Philadelphia, PA Electric Factory *
Thu 10.07.10 Washington, DC 9:30 Club *
Fri 10.08.10 New York, NY Terminal 5 *
* w/ Ratatat

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!