Contact Us

Dr John playing gulf benefit tonight, but Public Assembly closed after that, Union Pool Saturday cancelled too

Dr. John at Bonnaroo (more by Graeme Flegenheimer)
Dr. John

Katrina activist Dr. John and friends are playing (ironically) a soulfire4thegulf benefit show at Public Assembly tonight (8/26) with Sera Solstice, Mz. Imani, and Aliza Hava and the Rhythm Shamans. Tickets are still available.

Tonight’s show will be the last at Public Assembly until next week because the Brooklyn venue is closed for the weekend due to Hurricane Irene. All events scheduled to take place this Saturday and Sunday are postponed until further notice.

In other show cancellation news, Union Pool’s Summer Thunder Series, which was scheduled to continue this Saturday with Blues Control, Soldiers of Fortune, Coconuts, and DJ Dream Weapon is cancelled. According to Union Pool’s facebook, they will “work their hands chapped to reschedule the bill.”

All Dr. John dates below…


Dr. John — 2011 Tour Dates
Brooklyn, NY Public Assembly Fri Aug 26 / 11
St. Paul, MN Minnesota State Fair Fri Sep 02 / 11
St. Paul, MN Minnesota State Fair Sat Sep 03 / 11
Evanston, IL SPACE Sun Sep 04 / 11
Oakland, CA Yoshi’s Oakland Wed Sep 07 / 11
Oakland, CA Yoshi’s Oakland Thu Sep 08 / 11
Oakland, CA Yoshi’s Oakland Fri Sep 09 / 11
San Diego, CA Ocean Beach Pier Sat Sep 10 / 11
Saratoga, CA Mountain Winery Tue Sep 27 / 11
Orlando, FL House of Blues Fri Oct 07 / 11
Atlanta, GA Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre Wed Oct 12 / 11
Englewood, NJ Bergen Performing Arts Center Sat Oct 15 / 11
Red Bank, NJ Count Basie Theatre Sun Oct 16 / 11
Washington, DC 9:30 Club Tue Oct 18 / 11
Westbury, NY NYCB Theatre at Westbury Wed Oct 19 / 11
Glenside, PA Keswick Theatre Fri Oct 21 / 11
Reading, PA Sovereign Performing Arts Center Sat Oct 22 / 11
Cincinnati, OH Taft Theatre Sat Oct 29 / 11

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!