Contact Us

Franz Ferdinand announce new LP ‘Always Ascending,’ share title track

After a few teases, Franz Ferdinand have announced Always Ascending, their fifth album and first since founding member Nick McCarthy left the band. Working with producer Philippe Zdar (Cassius, Phoenix, The Beastie Boys), the new record finds the Scottish band incorporating electronic dance music into their sound to a level they’ve never done before. Frontman Alex Kapranos calls the new direction “simultaneously futuristic and naturalistic.” That’s apparent on Always Ascending‘s title track, which they’ve been playing on tour this year, and mixes in some “French touch” to their signature sound. Listen, and check out the album’s artwork and tracklist, below.

The band will preview the album today (10/25) live from Paris’ Point Ephémère and you can watch that via their Facebook at 3:30 PM Eastern.

As mentioned, Franz Ferdinand are playing NYC’s Brooklyn Steel on April 16, which is part of the 2018 tour. Tickets for the NYC show are on Amex presale now and go on sale to the general public on Friday (10/27) at noon. All tickets purchased for this tour include a digital copy of the new album.

All tour dates — which include some West Coast shows this year around the holidays — are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

always-ascending

Franz Ferdinand – Always Ascending tracklist
Always Ascending
Lazy Boy
Paper Cages
Finally
The Academy Award
Lois Lane
Huck And Jim
Glimpse Of Love
Feel The Love Go
Slow Don’t Kill Me Slow

Franz Ferdinand – 2017/2018 Tour Dates
Monday Dec 4 Seattle, WA Showbox Market
Tuesday Dec 5 Vancouver, BC Commodore
Wednesday Dec 6 Vancouver, BC Commodore
Thursday Dec 7 Portland, OR KNRK Show
Saturday Dec 9 Pomona, CA Glasshouse
Sunday Dec 10 Los Angeles, CA KROQ Almost Acoustic Christmas
Tuesday February 13 Manchester,UK Royal Albert Hall
Wednesday February 14 Nottingham,UK Rock City
Friday February 16 Newcastle,UK 02 Academy
Saturday February 17 Glasgow,UK 02 Academy
Monday February 19 Leeds,UK 02 Academy
Tuesday February 20 Birmingham,UK 02 Academy
Wednesday February 21 Bristol,UK 02 Academy
Friday February 23 Cambridge,UK Corn Exchange
Saturday February 24 London,UK 02 Brixton Academy
Sunday February 25 Brighton,UK Dome
Sunday April 8 Toronto, ON Rebel
Tuesday April 10 Boston, MA House of Blues
Wednesday April 11 Washington, DC 9:30 Club
Friday April 13 Philadelphia, PA The Fillmore
Monday April 16 Brooklyn, NY Brooklyn Steel
Friday April 27 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue
Saturday April 28 Kansas City, MO The Truman
Monday April 30 Milwaukee, WI The Rave
Wednesday May 2 St. Louis, MO The Pageant
Monday May 7 Dallas, TX House of Blues
Tuesday May 8 Houston, TX White Oak Music Hall
Friday May 11 Phoenix, AZ The Van Buren
Sunday May 13 San Diego, CA North Park @ The Observatory
Tuesday May 15 Los Angeles, CA The Wiltern
Thursday May 17 Oakland, CA The Fox Theatre

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!