Contact Us

Greg Fox leaves Liturgy (he tells us why)

by BBG

Greg Fox (center) on stage with White Hills (more by BBG)
White Hills

Spazzy drummer Greg Fox of Liturgy will leave the Brooklyn “white metal” crew after their October tour with Boris. The departure is amicable. Liturgy tours a lot and Greg wants to shift his focus to other things, like his solo project GDFX (who recently released One Thing, stream it), Guardian Alien (who play a release show on 9/24 at Shea Stadium), and more (stay tuned). Fox told us:

Liturgy was fun and educational, but it’s time for me to move forward. As a drummer in New York City, I have the opportunity to learn a lot from many very talented folks, and I’d like to be more open to those opportunities. If it makes sense for bands to last a long time then they do, otherwise you have to move on to the next thing, new experiences, new chapters. I wish Liturgy all the best. I’m excited about the future, about trying new things and making other plants grow, about growing personally, and about eating more pho.

And for the record, Greg Fox is that obsessed with Vietnamese noodle soup, though no word if said obsession caused friction between the band members. I am guessing not.

Catch Fox’s final NYC show with Liturgy when they play with Boris/Asobi Seksu at Irving Plaza on 10/27. Tickets are still available.

All tour dates and some video is below.


Liturgy live at Saint Vitus Bar, Brooklyn, NY 05/06/11

Liturgy Live @ SXSW 2011

Liturgy — 2011 Tour Dates
Thu Sep 8 Newark, DE – Mojo Main
Fri Sep 9 Raleigh, NC – Kings Barcade (Hopscotch) w/ Earth, The Body
Sat Sep 10 Nashville, TN – The End
Sun Sep 11 Louisville, KY – Mag Bar *
Mon Sep 12 Newport, KY – Southgate House *
Thu Sep 15 Grand Rapids, MI – Founders Brewery *
Fri Sep 16 Detroit, MI – Magic Stick Lounge *
Sat Sep 17 London, ON – Call The Office *
Sun Sep 18 Toronto, ON – Horseshoe Tavern *
Mon Sep 19 Ottawa, ON – Zaphod Beeblebrox *
Tue Sep 20 Quebec City, QC – Scanner Bistro *
Wed Sep 21 Montreal, QC – Il Motore w/ Cave *
Thu Sep 22 Milford, CT – Daniel Street Club
Wed Sep 28 Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
Wed Oct 12 Reykjavik, Iceland – Iceland Airwaves
Tue Oct 25 Boston, MA – Royale Nightclub +
Thu Oct 27 New York, NY – Irving Plaza +
Fri Oct 28 Philadephia, PA – Union Transfer +
Sat Oct 29 Washington, DC – Black Cat +
* w/ PC Worship
+ w/ Boris, Asobi Seksu

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!