Contact Us

Gwar guitarist Cory Smoot’s autopsy details revealed

Cory Smoot (right) @ one of his last shows (more by Carmelo Espanola)
Gwar

North Dakota coroner William Masselo, MD has released a statement regarding the death of Cory Smoot, better known as Gwar guitarist Flattus Maximus, who passed on November 3rd at the age of 34.

“We have finalized the autopsy report and death certificate. I have determined that Cory died from a coronary artery thrombosis brought about by his pre-existing coronary artery disease.”

The band, which will continue as a four-piece until the current tour schedule is complete, has officially retired the character of Flattus Maximus, and has announced no plans regarding a new GWAR-tarist.

Metal Blade and GWAR have since set-up the Smoot Family Foundation to raise funds for Cory’s wife, Jaime, and their unborn child.

Donate to the Smoot Family Foundation if you can and if you can’t then head to The Canal Club in Richmond, VA on January 7th to catch Mensrea, Cannabis Corpse, DBX and more as part of a record release show for Smoot’s solo LP When Worlds Collide. All proceeds from the show will go towards the fund.

Gwar is forging on as a four-piece for the forseeable future. Full tour dates (all in Europe in the New Year) are below.


GWAR – 2012 TOUR DATES
Wednesday, January 11, 2012 Antwerp, BELGIUM Trix
Thursday, January 12, 2012 Bristol, Avon Bristol Bierkeller
Friday, January 13, 2012 London, ENG Electric Brixton
Saturday, January 14, 2012 Coventry, England Kasbah
Sunday, January 15, 2012 Manchester, ENGLAND Ritz
Monday, January 16, 2012 Belfast,IRELAND Spring & Airbrake
Tuesday, January 17, 2012 Dublin, IRELAND The Button Factory @ Temple Bar
Wednesday, January 18, 2012 Wrexham, N.WALES Central Station
Thursday, January 19, 2012 North Yorkshire, ENGLAND The Duchess
Friday, January 20, 2012 Cardiff, UK The Coal Exchange
Saturday, January 21, 2012 Nottingham, ENGLAND Rock City
Sunday, January 22, 2012 Reading, ENGLAND Sub 89
Tuesday, January 24, 2012 Portsmouth, Gunwharf Highlights
Wednesday, January 25, 2012 Bochum Matrix/ Rockpalast GmbH
Thursday, January 26, 2012 Bielefeld, GERMANY Forum
Friday, January 27, 2012 Copenhagen , DEN The Rock
Saturday, January 28, 2012 Gothenburg, SWEDEN Trädgårn
Sunday, January 29, 2012 Oslo, NORWAY Rockefeller Music Hall
Monday, January 30, 2012 Stockholm, SWEDEN Klubben

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!