Contact Us

Happy birthday, Prince! New 1983 live LP on the way – hear “Mary Don’t You Weep”


Today (6/7) would’ve been Prince‘s 60th birthday and with that, the Prince estate has announced a new live album, titled Piano & A Microphone: 1983, that will be out September 21. As the title implies, it’s Prince solo at the piano and was recorded during a 1983 rehearsal at Prince’s studio in Chanhassen, Minnesota. (That’s the cover art, above.) The record includes an unreleased version of “Purple Rain,” and a cover of Joni Mitchell’s “A Case of You.” You can listen to “Mary Don’t You Weep,” which will be used in Spike Lee’s upcoming film BlacKkKlansman, and check out the full album tracklist, below.

Piano & A Microphone: 1983:
01 17 Days
02 Purple Rain
03 A Case Of You
04 Mary Don’t You Weep
05 Strange Relationship
06 International Lover
07 Wednesday
08 Cold Coffee & Cocaine
09 Why The Butterflies

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!