Contact Us

Jens Lekman shares “Evening Prayer,” expands tour, adds solo show at Rough Trade

jens

Jens Lekman has shared “Evening Prayer” from new album Life Will See You Now which is out next week. A bouncy bit of ’70s disco pop, Jens tells an unusual tale of love and friendship in his own unique way. You can stream it below.

You can catch Jens on tour with his band, starting later this month and he’ll be in NYC for shows at Bowery Ballroom on March 18 (sold out) and Music Hall of Williamsburg on March 19 (tickets). He’s also added a solo show at Rough Trade on March 20. The Bowery/MHOW shows are with Lisa/Liza (aka Liza Victoria), and the Rough Trade show is with Sorcha Richardson. Tickets for that one go on sale Friday (2/10) at 10 AM with an AmEx Presale beginning Wednesday (2/8) at noon.

If you’d like to attend one of Jens’ shows for free, he’s giving away tickets to every show on the tour via a contest he’s calling “Jens Will Loop You Now”:

While rehearsing with the band I realized there was one song that needed something for it’s intro, some kind of loop or something. I told Emelie who handles the samples “we’ll just put like a beat, a sample or something there”. But as I was looking for something in my loop folder today it struck me – maybe some of you would be interested in supplying a piece for this? I won’t tell you what song it is, let’s make that a surprise, but the part should be between 2-20 seconds long, it should be in 117 BPM, 4/4 time and in the key of F Major.

You don’t have to be a pro to be part of this. You can for example bang on some pots in your kitchen and just record it on your phone. Just make sure it’s in the right tempo in that case (download a metronome app and listen through your headphones) or whistle a simple melody you’ve made up, just make sure it’s in the right key. Feel free to use any instruments, including your voice.

If you can, export it as a 24bit WAVE file. But mp3’s and AIFF are ok too.
Send links (please do not send attachments!) along with which show you’re interested in to: jwlyn@secretlygroup.com

I will pick one loop / beat / melody for each city and the lucky winner will get a ticket to that show and hear your composition be mixed into our set!

All dates and the “Evening Prayer” stream are below.

Jens Lekman – 2017 tour dates:
Thu. Feb 23 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall (Downstairs)
Fri. Feb 24 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. Feb 25 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Mon. Feb 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Tue. Feb 28 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent [SOLD OUT]
Wed. Mar. 1 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent
Fri. Mar. 3 – Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Sun. Mar. 5 – Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Tue. Mar. 7 – Fargo, ND @ Aquarium
Wed. Mar. 8 – Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Cafe
Thu. Mar. 9 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
Fri. Mar. 10 – Columbus, OH @ Wexner Center for the Arts
Sat. Mar. 11 – Detroit, MI @ Magic Stick
Mon. Mar. 13 @ Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall [SOLD OUT]
Wed. Mar. 15 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
Thu. Mar. 16 – Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall
Fri. Mar. 17 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sat. Mar. 18 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom [SOLD OUT]
Sun. Mar. 19 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Mon. Mar. 20 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade [solo show]
Tue. Mar. 28 – Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Wed. Mar. 29 – London, UK @ Oval Space [SOLD OUT]
Thu. Mar. 30 – Leeds, UK @ The Brudenell Social Club
Fri. Mar. 31 – Manchester, UK @ Band on the Wall
Sat. Apr. 1 – Glasgow, UK @ St. Luke’s Church
Mon. Apr. 3 – Stockholm, SE @ Vasateatern [SOLD OUT]
Tue. Apr. 4 – Uppsala, SE @ Uppsala Konsert & Kongress
Wed. Apr. 5 – Malmo, SE @ KB
Thu. Apr 6 – Copenhagen, DK @ Studie 2
Fri. Apr. 7 – Orebro, SE @ Orebro Concert Hall
Sat. Apr. 8 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik [SOLD OUT]
Sun. Apr. 9 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Mon. Apr. 10 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!