Contact Us

Jonah Matranga touring w/ J Robbins, adds 2nd NYC show; Moral Mazes 7″ out now (full stream + dates)

by Andrew Sacher

Jonah Matranga in NYC in 2008 (more by Tim Griffin)

Moral Mazes, the new band of Far’s Jonah Matranga and Jawbox’s J Robbins, put out their debut 7″ earlier this month via Bridge 9 which had all the sounds of ’90s post-hardcore that you’d expect from a lineup like that. We already posted one song and you can now stream the full thing below.

We mentioned that Jonah Matranga/Onelinedrawing would be playing a solo show in NYC at Mercury Lounge on November 23, but at the time it was his only announced US date and now it’s been revealed that it’s part of a full tour and that J. Robbins is opening most dates. Maybe with J and Jonah both there, they’ll play some Moral Mazes songs?

The tour also includes another NYC show happening earlier in the month at Saint Vitus on November 12 with Zvi, Mount Gomery and Natural Stranger. J’s not on that one, but he is on the Mercury Lounge show which also includes Jamie Stellini. Tickets for Merc and Vitus are on sale now.

All dates are listed, with the Moral Mazes 7″ stream, below…

Moral Mazes – Magic Tommy Jackson

Jonah Matranga — 2014 Tour Dates
Fri Sep 26 – Port Huron, MI – House Show
Thu Oct 2 – Leek (UK) – The Roebuck
Fri Oct 3 – Devises (UK) – The Lamb
Sat Oct 4 – Nottingham (UK) – Guitar Bar
Sun Oct 5 – Bristol (UK) – Thekla
Tue Oct 7 – Brighton (UK) – IDEAS?
Thu Oct 9 – Cambridge (UK) – House Show
Fri Oct 10 – Tamworth (UK) – The Attic
Sun Oct 12 – Shoreditch (UK) – House Show
Tue Nov 11 – Elmwood Park, NJ – Twisted Elm
Wed Nov 12 – Brooklyn, NY – St. Vitus w/ Zvi, Mount Gomery, Natural Stranger
Thu Nov 13 – Philadelphia, PA – Boot & Saddle – w/J Robbins
Fri Nov 14 – Cambridge, MA – TBA – w/J Robbins
Sat Nov 15 – Providence, RI – Parlour – w/J Robbins
Tue Nov 18 – Baltimore, MD – Metro Gallery – w/J Robbins
Thu Nov 20 – Southbury, CT – House Show (info)
Fri Nov 21 – Binghamton, NY – Fitzie’s
Sun Nov 23 – NYC – Mercury Lounge – w/J Robbins, Jamie Stellini

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!