Contact Us

Jonathan Richman — 2011 Tour Dates

Jonathan Richman at MHOW in 2010 (more by Andrew Frisicano)
Jonathan Richman

Jonathan Richman has a tour scheduled this fall including two shows in NYC, on October 21 and 22 at The Bell House. Tickets for both shows are on sale now. All dates are listed below.

It’s unclear if his longtime collaborator Tommy Larkins will be with him on this trip, but they did just play together for three nights in a row at the Make-Out Room in San Francisco….

“Jonathan Richman showed off his guitar prowess by playing extended and complicated riffs and even literally spinning his guitar around his body and stuff. He’s still got his amazing voice. He played two pretty long sets (maybe 45 minutes each?) and had a ten-minute break in between the sets that he announced by singing about it to the audience.

Before he went to take his first break, he fed off the super-stoked energy of the audience and called his drummer Tommy (Tom Larkins) back on stage to play a song about Mission Dolores park. It seemed like a spontaneous moment and maybe even an improvised song, although I don’t really know, but at the least it was an unfinished track. He broke down the many types that hang out at the park and how even the hipster-y of the hipsters might be getting sick of the park and how some people might have just become hipsters that morning before they walked to the park. I’m not sure if I’ve ever been to a show before, where the musician made the audience barrel-over laughing.”

All tour dates below…


Jonathan Richman — 2011 Tour Dates
Sat Sep 24 – Portland, OR Aladdin Theater
Sun Sep 25 – Seattle, WA Tractor Tavern
Mon Sep 26 – Seattle, WA Tractor Tavern
Tue Sep 27 – Vancouver, BC, Biltmore Cabaret
Thu Sep 29 – Edmonton, Starlite Room
Sun Oct 2 – Winnipeg, West End Cultural Centre
Wed Oct 5 – Toronto, Revival
Thu Oct 6 – Toronto, Revival
Sat Oct 8 – Montreal, La Sala Rossa
Wed Oct 12 – Portland, ME SPACE Gallery
Thu Oct 13 – Cambridge, MA Middle East Club Upstairs
Fri Oct 14 – Cambridge, MA Middle East Club Upstairs
Sat Oct 15 – Cambridge, MA Middle East Club Upstairs
Sun Oct 16 – Providence, RI Firehouse 13
Wed Oct 19 – Fairfield, CT Fairfield Theatre Company on StageOne
Thu Oct 20 – Baltimore, MD The Patterson Billy Colucci
Fri Oct 21 – Brooklyn, NY The Bell House
Sat Oct 22 – Brooklyn, NY The Bell House
Mon Oct 24 – Ithaca, NY The Haunt
Tue Oct 25 – Youngstown, OH Cedars Lounge
Wed Oct 26 – Athens, OH The Union
Thu Oct 27 – Columbus, OH The Summit
Fri Oct 28 – Bloomington, IN The Bishop

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!