Contact Us

listen to Illuminati Hotties cover Whitney Houston + tour with PUP starts soon

Illuminati Hotties
photo by Kristy Benjamin

LA indie rockers Illuminati Hotties have stayed busy since releasing their debut album Kiss Yr Frenemies on Tiny Engines last year, with plenty of touring and the 2019 single “I Wanna Keep Yr Dog.” Now, they have put their twist on the Whitney Houston classic “I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me).” Main band member Sarah Tudzin turned it into a lo-fi, bare-bones folk song, making it sound closer to The Microphones than to Whitney Houston, and it totally works. She says, “‘I Wanna Dance With Somebody’ is a perfect song. The sentiment behind it is so forlorn, while the track behind it rages on in 80s exuberance in such a way that only a power-diva like Whitney Houston could pull off. It’s a song that has always fascinated me, so I started covering it live from the angle of heartbreak that is illustrated by the lyrics, and ultimately decided to record it to tape and slow it down even further.” Listen below.

Illuminati Hotties are also touring, including Hopscotch this week and then a run opening for PUP after that. Part of the run with PUP also includes some shows with AJJ, and that very cool triple bill hits NYC on September 12 at Terminal 5 (tickets). All dates are listed below.

Subscribe to Brooklyn Vegan on

Illuminati Hotties — 2019 Tour Dates
09.05.2019 Thu Kings – Stereogum Day Party Raleigh, NC
09.05.2019 Thu Hopscotch Music Festival Raleigh, NC
09.11.2019 Wed Franklin Music Hall Philadelphia, PA*^
09.12.2019 Thu Terminal 5 New York, NY*^
09.13.2019 Fri Rams Head Live! Baltimore, MD*^
09.14.2019 Sat The National Richmond, VA*^
09.16.2019 Mon Jack Rabbits – IH Headline Jacksonville , FL*
09.17.2019 Tue The Orpheum Tampa Bay, FL*
09.18.2019 Wed Culture Room Fort Lauderdale, FL*
09.19.2019 Thu The Beacham Orlando, FL*
09.21.2019 Sat Variety Playhouse Atlanta, GA*
09.22.2019 Sun Saturn Birmingham, AL*
09.23.2019 Mon Cannery Ballroom Nashville, TN*
09.24.2019 Tue Delmar Hall St. Louis, MO*
09.26.2019 Thu Deluxe @ Old National Center Indianapolis, IN*
09.27.2019 Fri Newport Music Hall Columbus, OH*
09.28.2019 Sat Headliners Music Hall Louisville, KY*
09.29.2019 Sun Elevation at the Intersection Grand Rapids, MI*
10.25.2019 Fri Arizona State University Tempe, AZ w/ Cherry Glazerr

* – w/ PUP
^ – w/ AJJ

Check It Out

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://www.brooklynvegan.com using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for BrooklynVegan quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!